Tofu Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My first tiime with tofu it was a little dry for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was wonderful, but I did make a few changes. First, in case you haven't worked with tofu before, it SO MUCH easier to work with if you freeze it, then defrost it. You can then easily squeeze out the extra water and in this case, press it firmly into the parmesan/bread crumb mixture without it falling apart. It changes the texture, but not the taste. This is especially good for people who are turned off by the "slimy" texture. I also double-layered the tofu, alternating with spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. I thought I sliced it to the right thickness, yet I had plenty extra and I ended up happy that it turned out this way. I can't wait to make this again, especially for tofu-resistant carnivores. My husband, who loves meaty eggplant parmesan, loved this and asked that I keep the recipe to make regularly. My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogoet
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Very tasty. I didnt have parmegian or mozzarella, so I used Feta and Swiss cheese instead. I added some more tomato sauce on top too and a little more breadcrumbs. I also sliced zucchini and placed on top with sauce on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was a hit in my house! My daughter and I began a new healthy lifestyle 12 weeks ago and became vegans. My hubsand eats anything I cook but my son misses his meat. But surprise, surprise he loved this,took left overs to school and wants me to fix it more often than I would like. So thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was our first experience with tofu and it was awesome...My husband LOVED this! I sliced, pressed, seasoned (TS garlic pepper)and froze this then defrosted while doing yard work. Dipped in egg then Italian bread crumbs/parmesan and baked instead of frying. Spread some shredded mozzarella cheese and stuck under the broiler for a a min or two and served with sauce over top instead of baking in the sauce. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Made it today, it turned out really well nice idea! I did freeze it however later wished I didn't ... it became crumbly and harder to work with. I think I was suposed to drain it BEFORE freezing..oops any way next time I will press the tofu and drain it well!YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was amazing!! Just made it for my husband and 4 year old and they loved it! Only changes I made were to dip the tofu in egg before the breadcrumbs so they would stick better. Also I did not place tofu in a bowl of water I just sliced and pressed all of the water out of tofu with a paper towel. I also added extra garlic. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Had some trouble getting the bread crumb mixture to stick to the tofu, but otherwise a tasty and relatively healthy entree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have made this before and made a few revisions this time. 1) I dipped the tofu in egg before I dipped it in the breadcrumb mixture to help it stick. 2) I recently came across Matt's Mix All Purpose Season. I used it instead of salt and it was fabulous. I found it at www.mattsmix.com. 3) Also I was wondering if poking holes in the tofu might help some of the flavor sink in. Just a thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great recipe! It was the first time I tried cooking with tofu and it turned out amazing. Tastes like chicken! Followed recipe pretty closely with a few adjustments: froze the tofu overnight. Then thawed it, patted dry. Dipped in egg before coating in breadcrumbs. Rest of recipe was followed closely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 783) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States