Tofu Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was amazing!! Just made it for my husband and 4 year old and they loved it! Only changes I made were to dip the tofu in egg before the breadcrumbs so they would stick better. Also I did not place tofu in a bowl of water I just sliced and pressed all of the water out of tofu with a paper towel. I also added extra garlic. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Had some trouble getting the bread crumb mixture to stick to the tofu, but otherwise a tasty and relatively healthy entree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have made this before and made a few revisions this time. 1) I dipped the tofu in egg before I dipped it in the breadcrumb mixture to help it stick. 2) I recently came across Matt's Mix All Purpose Season. I used it instead of salt and it was fabulous. I found it at www.mattsmix.com. 3) Also I was wondering if poking holes in the tofu might help some of the flavor sink in. Just a thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great recipe! It was the first time I tried cooking with tofu and it turned out amazing. Tastes like chicken! Followed recipe pretty closely with a few adjustments: froze the tofu overnight. Then thawed it, patted dry. Dipped in egg before coating in breadcrumbs. Rest of recipe was followed closely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
One helpful tip: Freeze the tofu instead of just leaving it in the fridge. Defrost when ready to use. This helps make the tofu more 'meaty.' I was very happy with recipe and my family loved it! Served pasta and garlic bread on the side. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
GOOD! I followed what other reviews said to do: 1) Dry Tofu and salt and pepper it 2) Freeze for half an hour 3) Press in flour, then eggs, then the bread crumbs 4) Put in oven for 15 min then take out, flip tofu over and put back in for 15 min 5) REMEMBER to put sauce down first then the tofu and toppings on top. Cook for 20 min 6) I added a bit of Essance toppings at the end and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
In the past I have not had very good luck with tofu, but this recipe came out really well. In fact, it really tasted a lot like chicken parmesan. The best part is that the tofu does not have to be pan-fried like when you use chicken or eggplant. Excellent healthier option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Loved this! Next time I plan to double the recipe and use a larger pan. In this case I will bake the tofu slices in the oven as I would have otherwise to do multiple bathches in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yum - I didn't fry the breaded tofu - I put them back in the oven. It was very tasty - the family like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I absolutely love this dish, but I prepare it differently now, having experimented a few times. To texturize/firm the tofu, I cut into 1/4" slices, press the water out, freeze overnight and defrost prior to preparing the recipe. I use Panko crumbs for a crispier coating. I salt/pepper the tofu, press it into flour, dip it into egg whisked in a shallow dish (make sure excess egg falls off), then press it into panko. I spray both sides with an olive oil spray, then broil on each side until golden brown. I then spoon canned marinara and sprinkle mozzarella over top, and again finish off in the broiler until mozzarella is bubbly and golden. So much healthier and, in my opinion, easier -- and just as tasty as the pan-fried version. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States