Tofu Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Really good and actually pretty easy to make. I will say at first it was hard to keep the Bread Crumbs on the Tofu but you really just have to let it sit on one side for awhile. It takes a good minute for it to get browned and stick to the tofu. Good recipe. ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Holy cow, this is amazing. If you want to give your veggie friends an unusual and yummy dinner this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This was my 1st time cooking and eating tofu. A first for my 4yo and husband as well. The fam loved it! I did call it chicken parm and I have yet to be corrected :-) I did the flour,egg, crumb method and baked at 375 for about 10 on each side. I used prego sauce, a mix of spicy sausage and meat sauce with a bit of sugar, fennel, cayenne, oregano, and garlic. I am super sensitive to particular textures, like eggs and mushrooms, and thought the tofu parmigiana had a texture like hard boiled eggs, the white part. The flavor was incredible but I couldn't handle the texture. I will have to make this again for the fam. Great recipe and easily modified for convenience and personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I've never cooked with tofu before, and this was DELICIOUS! I figured "parmigiana" was the best kind of recipe to make because you can't go wrong with sauce and cheese. I read the reviews first and made these changes: I pressed the tofu between weighted paper towel for hours before starting, sprinkled the 6 slices with flour before dipping in egg and then bread crumbs. From there I followed the recipe, frying them lightly and then baking. I served it over whole wheat spaghetti with steamed green beans. Also I used what I had on hand which was plain bread crumbs and jarred tomato basil pasta sauce. I just added dried Italian seasoning, extra oregano and grated Parmesan to the plain crumbs. I think as long as you prep the tofu well to make it dry and firm, you can't go wrong with this no matter how you may change the other ingredients. This was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Cottrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Delicious! I did follow the instruction of other reviewers though and did the flour, egg and bread crumb method. For the sauce I used a 16oz can of Trader Joe's Marinara sauce, the 8oz can wouldn't be enough for us. Next time I'll make my own sauce though and add a little red pepper. Fabulous recipe. Serve with a side salad with Italian dressing, garlic bread and your favorite red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I pressed my tofu and dipped in scrambled egg/water mixture prior to the bread crumbs(i left out the Parmesan). I also used leftover canned pasta sauce, and added all the the Parmesan and mozzarella to the top. It was quite tasty! I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was my first experience with tofu and I enjoyed it. I would cut the tofu a little thicker for easier handling and I'd definitely use a extra firm tofu. You can add whatever spices you want for more flavor, but what's presented here is tasty. I'll be adding this to my staple of meatless meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine M. Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
One more vote for "surprisingly delicious." Since I'm used to doing this with other tofu recipes, before cooking I wrapped the tofu block in paper towels and put a heavy pot on top in order to press out as much moisture as possible. I think this helps ensure a firm, "meaty" texture, which works well for this recipe in particular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was surprisingly flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Perfect for a vegetarian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States