Tofu Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I found it to be tasty, but after I altered the ingredients. Like one of the other users, I substituted vegetable broth for the water, added more Graham Masala (because I like to taste the spices strongly), and thickened it up with coconut cream at the end when it was simmering. The coconut cream also helped to sweeten it up just a bit, as the masala is very bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Basis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Garam masala spice can vary in flavor and strength and I found the 2 T. not enough flavor. Next time I will use broth instead of water and boost the heat with some cayenne pepper as another reviewer suggested. The sauce didn't look at all like the creamy red color in the picture so I will add some tomato paste next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
My 1st Tofu meal and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Pretty good! I had to make a few changes - I didn't have any chickpeas so used blackeyed peas (tasted great) and no fresh tomatoes so used some sundried that had a little Italian seasoning on them (was good too). Also did not add the additional TB of oil, and no salt for health reasons. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I give it 3 and half stars. I am a new vegitarian, and not really used to eating tofu or many vegatable, so this did dish did not make my taste buds sing but it wasnt bad either. Something to get used to, tofu especially. I like the fact that its healthy. I followed the recipe almost completly I just added two papers instead of one. Cooking time was increased as well, maybe 30 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was good. My family really liked it and said "You can make this again!" I started by making this exactly as written except I marinated the tofu in soy and teriyaki sauce and I used one can of diced tomatoes. Then it wasn't as saucey as I liked so I added an additional can of tomato sauce. Since that made it more volume I upped the garam masala some, then tasted it and it seemed a little flat. (I cook without salt due to health reasons and I think salt would have fixed this) Noting the other reveiws, I decided sour cream or yogurt would be a good addition but alas I had niether so added some cream and lemon juice. With these changes it was a Hit! I served it over white rice and I will definately make this again. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I doubled this recipe and used chicken broth instead of water. These were the ONLY changes that I made in the recipe, and was very disappointed. Bland is an understatement. My kitchen had a wonderful smell from the pot as it cooked, but the flavor was just not there. The family ate some of it, but requested that we not have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I doubled the recipe and added 1 -28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also substituted coconut milk for the water (14 oz) . Topped with sesame seeds and scallions. 5 stars with my adjustments but only 3 stars as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
OMG I love tofu and garam masala and I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vrinda12

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Royal, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I used olive oil instead of canola oil and later, during the simmering process, added two tblespoons of tomato paste because the sauce wasn't thickening up as I would have hoped. I also liberally sprinkled cayenne pepper over the simmering ingredients. Lastly, I added several dashes of soy sauce for a little boost. Overall, it was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States