Tofu Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I was tempted to listen to all the "bad" reviews and change around all kinds of things, but then I decided to give it a go (almost) as it is, and it was FANTASTIC! The only changes I made was to add salt and pepper, use only 1 tablespoon of oil and add 30g sesame seeds because of their nutritional value. Great recipe! I did not find there to be too much lemon juice or garlic, although the garlic did stand out a bit so if you are not a garlic lover like me you could probably use a little less. The lemon was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I liked the smoothess but it tasted too much like peanut butter..it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I really prefer the taste of tahini (traditional) over the peanut butter, but the addition of the tofu did give it a really silky texture. The recipe calls for too much lemon, however, and unless you are looking specifically for a very lemony hummus, you might want to cut back on it. I did this recipe as a part of the Western Region's Faceless Frenzy July 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
What I liked best about this recipe was the idea of replacing tahini with silken tofu. I think if you ask 50 different cooks, you'll get 50 different variations on hummus, so I used the chickpea/tofu base and added my lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, paprika, cayenne and cumin to taste. Not such a fan of the peanut butter but everything else was great! I think I'll use tofu instead of tahini in my hummus from now on... thanks for the recipe & the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
A little too peanut buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Tofu does give this hummus extra body and creaminess. I don't bother to tell people about the tofu and they never know. This recipe is extremely bland as is and everyone is right, there is way too much lemon. I used 2 cloves garlic, 2 tablespoons each of lemon juice, olive oil and tahini. I also added 1/4 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon salt and a pinch of cayenne. Right before serving, I stir in a healthy amount of chopped cilantro. As is the recipe is about 2 stars, with changes, it bumps it up to a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This recipe was very good. It could have used a little less peanut butter. I substitued regular peanut butter for lowfat. Also, if you let this sit for one day in the fridge it tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is awesome! So versatile - try adding ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I love this recipe for Tofu Hummus and use it as my standard hummus base recipe; although I have to admit that as is it’s not quite right as is. It has a bit too much lemon juice, it’s a bit sharp from the garlic (if you use fresh), and I find it needs salt and spices. And as a traditionalist, I leave out the peanut butter and use tahini instead. However, it’s a super starting point! For classic hummus I add cumin, paprika, a pinch of salt and a bit of cayenne pepper. My favorite is roast garlic hummus- double (or triple!) the amount of garlic and roast it carefully under the broiler first. Also good adding green or black olives, roasted red peppers, or tabasco and crunch red onion. Give this recipe a chance, just be prepared to add your own finishing touches to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
The tofu makes this hummus creamier than usual, but I think you may want to doll it up a bit with more spice--some cumin perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States