Tofu Hiyayakko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I was an exchange student in Japan and my Host Mom would serve this for breakfast with rice and miso soup, YUM!! I want to make it but I am not sure where to buy "dashi granules" and "bonito shavings"??? Would they be in the ethnic food aisle or would I have to find a Japanese market?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I ate this same dish (minus the sesame seeds) growing up...still LOVE IT- very simple but tasty. Holly T- you can order dashi granules online from Amazon if you can't find them in your ethnic store (never seen it in regular supermarkets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
A delicious, refreshing, & light dish. I served it as a side dish at a sushi making party with some friends. Bonito shavings can be hard to find, but I found a bottle of bonito flakes+black sesame seeds+seaweed flakes all in one at a local Japanese market. The black sesame flakes really pop against the tofu. Very yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Gruwell
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Perfect. I've been craving this and it's so simple and perfect. Nom. Dashi granules are often sold as "hondashi" or Bonito Soup Stock Bouillon. It doesn't say "granules" on the package. I found it in the spice section of 99 Ranch in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gruwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My Korean husband loves this and it's so easy. As simple as it is, this dish is incredibly delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Spoted bonito flakes @ Wholefoods for about $10. Didn't buy it because don't know what else to do with it so I used roasted seaweed I had on hand. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Healthy, easy and tasty recipe. I love it. I used to use soy sauce only for tofu hiyayakko but now I love using this recipe. What makes it even better is using naturally brewed soy sauce. Tofu, this recipe and naturally brewed soy sauce make a perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
great exactly the way it is! though i add bean sprouts, sriracha, sesame oil, chili oil, and shichimi togarashi for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States