Tofu Fudge Mocha Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2000
These mocha bars taste GREAT! They are very fudgie and moist. The only problem I had with them is they are very hard to cut, because they stick to the knife and very hard to get out of the pan. They want to stick to the knife or spatula. I followed the recipe in using a clean, wet knife, but that still did not work. It was very frustrating when I could not get them out of the pan. of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Delicious. I didn't have any turbinado sugar, so I used half regular sugar and half Splenda. It tasted great. next time I am going to try it with a higher ratio of Splenda to Sugar. Very rich and moist. I baked this in a 8X8 pan for 40 minutes. It was perfect. I made this again with all Splenda instead of sugar and it turned out great. This time instead of vanilla, I subbed chocolate Torani syrup. YUM! More chocolately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I didn't use coffee and they were like rich brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
These bars are very rich, but you won't fool anyone into thinking they're a traditional cake or brownie. With that said, they're good in and of themselves... they're like a mixture between pudding and cake. I bet they'd be perfect for an ice cream sandwich (traditional cookies get too hard when they hit the ice cream). I only used 1 3/4 cups sugar, and they were very sweet. I might try reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and reducing the cocoa slightly. Make sure you use good tofu (I used Morinu), because its flavor will come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great tofu recipe! Makes the bars super smooth and rich and soft. I'm more of a cakey person though, I don't tend to like soft things like pudding, or mousse so if you do, this is a must try! :) It is definitely not a rich brownie - there is no cake texture and it's too soft :) The batter did spread out really thin b/c it's so soft like another reviewer said - next time I'll probably bake in a smaller pan or maybe add some baking powder. I think my bf will love this b/c he's the opposite of me and loves soft things! :) And I didn't have safflower oil so I used "I can't believe it's butter" and I used white flour instead of whole wheat and a mixture of light and dark brown sugar in place of the unrefined sugar, and Irish Cream liqueur instead of the instant coffee powder and I added some caramel sauce. I might try again with whole wheat flour that could give it an interesting taste. I might incorporate tofu into my regular brownie recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
I used this recipe while teaching a vegetarian cooking class. It was very easy to demonstrate, relatively healthy, and tasted absolutely wonderful! Try this recipe if you like RICH tasting desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Delicious, thank you!! Bake in an 8x8 pan instead and you get perfect, rich fudge brownies! (bake them longer too). I tried them with one substitution: instead of the coffee, I used flavored hot cocoa mix - lots of variations possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I was surprised at how good this tasted. I halved the recipe and used an 8-in square pan. The batter was spread out pretty thin, about 1/4-in and didn't look presentable, but it was really rich and delicious. I substituted light brown sugar for the turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
These are really good! I didn't use the full ammount of coffee and they were perfect... I also recomend adding nuts and craisins to the top!! They can also be cooked a little longer to make firm-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
these are incredibly rich and chocolatey... the wheat flour was a bit of an arm workout but everything turned out great! i've definitely had requests to make them again soon... yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States