Tofu Fudge Mocha Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I attempted this recipe with Whole Wheat Instabake, because I had it on hand. Perhaps, as I've seen elsewhere the whole wheat flour needs to be refrigerated to keep it from going rancid. This may be the trouble others have had without realizing it was bad flour. So much for initially wanting to use up the Silken Tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Ok, so I didn't have safflower oil and replaced it with vegetable oil and I had no idea what turbinado sugar was so I used Splenda and maybe that's why these were horrible. I will not make these again. I tricked my boyfriend into trying it. Now he won't eat anything I make for fear that there's tofu in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
These bars are very rich, but you won't fool anyone into thinking they're a traditional cake or brownie. With that said, they're good in and of themselves... they're like a mixture between pudding and cake. I bet they'd be perfect for an ice cream sandwich (traditional cookies get too hard when they hit the ice cream). I only used 1 3/4 cups sugar, and they were very sweet. I might try reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and reducing the cocoa slightly. Make sure you use good tofu (I used Morinu), because its flavor will come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Good recipe, not all that healthy though with the amount of sugar, oil and cocoa called for (even if it isn't refined). I also put mine in an 8x8 pan for 40 mins - perfect!! If you let it cool for a little bit and then put it in the freezer for a little while, it makes the cutting much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Very good. Next time I might skimp a little on the coffee, though, because they were the slightest bit bitter for my husband and me. But since they're so healthy and moist, there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
excellant ! I like to add 1/2 cup of raisins , walnuts and vegan chocolate chips for a rich decadent treat my whole family loves :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Delicious. I didn't have any turbinado sugar, so I used half regular sugar and half Splenda. It tasted great. next time I am going to try it with a higher ratio of Splenda to Sugar. Very rich and moist. I baked this in a 8X8 pan for 40 minutes. It was perfect. I made this again with all Splenda instead of sugar and it turned out great. This time instead of vanilla, I subbed chocolate Torani syrup. YUM! More chocolately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Delicious, thank you!! Bake in an 8x8 pan instead and you get perfect, rich fudge brownies! (bake them longer too). I tried them with one substitution: instead of the coffee, I used flavored hot cocoa mix - lots of variations possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Great tofu recipe for non-tofu eaters! Rich and chocolatey! Very easy if you make them in the food processor - just don't overmix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great tofu recipe! Makes the bars super smooth and rich and soft. I'm more of a cakey person though, I don't tend to like soft things like pudding, or mousse so if you do, this is a must try! :) It is definitely not a rich brownie - there is no cake texture and it's too soft :) The batter did spread out really thin b/c it's so soft like another reviewer said - next time I'll probably bake in a smaller pan or maybe add some baking powder. I think my bf will love this b/c he's the opposite of me and loves soft things! :) And I didn't have safflower oil so I used "I can't believe it's butter" and I used white flour instead of whole wheat and a mixture of light and dark brown sugar in place of the unrefined sugar, and Irish Cream liqueur instead of the instant coffee powder and I added some caramel sauce. I might try again with whole wheat flour that could give it an interesting taste. I might incorporate tofu into my regular brownie recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States