Tofu Fudge Mocha Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These were just acceptable. They weren't quite the fudgey bars I was expecting, rather they were kind of grainy and had more of a brownie texture. The flavor was good, however not really strong on the coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Although it was just a little sweet for me, my daughter and granddaughter loved these. And they aren't tofu fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I used spelt flour, 1 cup of brown and 1 cup white sugar( may use less next time), olive oil and a handful of dark chocolate chips. Next time I will use stevia for the sugar and will add nuts as well. This is a fun, easy and healthier then some treats recipe. Made again and this time I used 1 3/4 brown sugar, 1/4 cup coffee, coconut dessert tofu, coconut and walnuts with spelt flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I made these bars on a lark and they were simple to make. I used brown sugar, and only used 1 and 1/2 cups of it. My bars were kinda rubbery... although they had a nice dark chocolate flavor. Maybe i cooked them to long. Hmmmm... this seems like it could be great and moist but my need a little work. I put them in the freezer, maybe they will make great frozen treats. Dont give up on this one but be carefull how long you cook and mix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
So good! I did make a few slight modifications though. Like others I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups (3/4 Splenda and 3/4 raw sugar), used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and instead of the using the liquid the tofu was packaged in, I put a splash of soymilk. I also used a slightly smaller pan for thicker bars and increased the baking time a few minutes. The texture is obviously slightly off from a regular fudge bar but it's as close as it gets! It's dense and moist and as healthy as it gets for a chocolate fix! Next time, I'm going to try to use all Splenda next time to try and cut back on some calories. But this is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Granted this was my first use of tofu in the kitchen. My husband likes them. No one else really does much but laugh about them. Hopefully in some time my family will get more aquainted with tofu and warm up to it. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
The texture is reallly good, chewy and dense. I honestly thought the coffee was a little too much, made it a little too bitter for my taste. I used olive oil and raw sugar since i didn't have the listed ingredients. I would probably use a chocolate mix to replace the coffee and add mint essance to mask the tofu flavour. Its best when eaten cold on the second day!! Its a recipe worth experimenting on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Very good, co-workers did not believe it was made with tofu !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Saint-Eustache, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This was so much fun to make and deeelicious. I gave it 4 stars b/c I think that it could've called for less sugar (2 cups) and less coffee. Other than that, they came out moist and yummy. Texture is not as cakey as a brownie but good enough to pass for the real thing. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neb123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Fantastic! Instead of using the packaging liquid from the tofu, I substituted soy milk. I also added some nuts and carob chips. I substitued 1/2 of the sugar with Splenda. I froze the bars individually wrapped and now have a relatively healthy snack to curb my chocolate cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States