Tofu 'Fish' Fillet Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This really does taste just like fish! I used triple kelp powder and added flour to the dry ingredients. I also froze the tofu then defrosted in the microwave and squeezed out all of the water (as suggested by another reviewer)You must do this it makes it like a true fish fillet. I fried it in a small amount of veggie oil till brown. Then put them on a bun with tarter sauce, tomato and lettuce. I tell ya you cannot tell it isn't fish. Thanks for the recipe everyone loved it. I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKASOONER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This was my choice as my birthday dinner this year (really fancy, I know), and it was so simple that even my boyfriend could make it! I did advise him to fry it, however, which really made the tofu firm up a little and crisped the breading. I think this would satisfy any vegan/vegetarian or fish-eater! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
ATTENTION: If you want your "fish" patties to turn out with more of a meat texture, purchase firm or extra firm tofu and freeze it before using. Then, thaw it in a colander and squeeze ALL the liquid out of it before you slice it. If you do not squeeze out the liquid, you will end up with a patty that is mushy and the breading WILL NOT STICK. If you are using the traditional block of tofu, slicing it into 5 or 6 slices also helps. Kelp powder is made from ocean kelp and adds lots of nutrients plus gives it more of a "fish" flavor. If you don't use it, its still good, but don't expect too much of a "fish" flavor. Excellent recipe if you use these tips! Thanks for a great recipe for vegetarians!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cloverdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I pan fried this in a little olive oil. I topped it with red onion, pickles and mayo. My wife really liked it (and she did NOT like the idea of tofu-anything). She agreed that we'll have this one or two times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was my first attempt cooking tofu, and it was a huge success! I used "roasted garlic and savory spices" breadcrumbs, and I think that really added to it! I also baked it for 10 minutes longer than suggested because I wanted it firmer. It was great though, and I definetly plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeliciousD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My whole family loved this, even my 3 year old ate a whole sandwich and asked for another patty. Be sure to drain the tofu thoroughly and the breading will stick well. I didn't have any fall off. I baked them and sprayed non-stick spray on the tray and on the tops of the patties (flip half way through cooking, but most of the crispiness comes when you toast the buns. I cut the tofu in 7 slices. I used prepared tartar sauce. These even reheated well in the microwave! Great recipe and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
My husband and my meat-eating husband both loved this recipe. Definately drain, freeze, thaw, and then pat dry before cookings. I also put the breading along with a little flour in a gallon ziplock bag and gently rolled the fillets to coat. Oh, and I used garlic salt and ommitted the extra salt. I ended up cooking them for 25 minutes on one side and then flipping them and cooking them for an additional twenty minutes on the other side to get them nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I followed Susan's suggestions for the recipe and it turned out really well. I had a bunch of kelp powder that I acquired and I've been looking for ways to use it...this was a great way for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I did not have kelp powder so I did my best to crush up nori-sheets along with the breadcrumbs in a blender. These were easy to make once the tofu was prepped; I froze mine, thawed, then squeezed out most of the water before using in this recipe. I also made a vegan slaw to put on top of the sandwich (didn't use the dressing recipe) and it was so good! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LenoreRockchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hays, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe....I did freeze the tofu and did get the "meatier" texture...the only thing I would change is adding more kelp powder probably 2 tsp instead of 1 and that's it...this is "added" to our menu permanently :) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States