Tofu 'Fish' Fillet Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was my first attempt cooking tofu, and it was a huge success! I used "roasted garlic and savory spices" breadcrumbs, and I think that really added to it! I also baked it for 10 minutes longer than suggested because I wanted it firmer. It was great though, and I definetly plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeliciousD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I tried this as I had bought Tofu to make a pasta salad and had some left over. Maybe it is because I didn't make the sauce but it was bland and didn't get crunchy - it just seemed soggy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
woo great stuff, so crispy! i too, like baked better than fried here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was good and a very quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I was really unimpressed by this. The tofu just doesn't "crisp" up at all. The breadcrumb mixture didn't stick well to the tofu after baking (fell off in places). In the end, all I tasted was breadcrumbs and the tartar sauce (with the tofu giving a very odd, squishy texture to it all). I'm sure this would be decent if you enjoy tofu, but this is just cementing the idea that tofu is NOT for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I made these for myself and my vegetarian sister, along with two meat-eaters, and every one of us was impressed with how good they were, especially taking into account the simplicity of the recipe. My only advice is to slice the tofu a little thinner than recommended (about six slices per package of tofu), or they get a little bland. I only gave four stars because the tartar sauce was inedible. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Although I've been a vegetarian for awhile, I've never been a fan of tofu. This recipe is only my second attempt at using tofu, and it turned out a hundred times better than the first. I thought that it baked and tasted really well and was very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Didn't cook good! The bread crumbs fell off while cooking. I ended up mashing it all togeather (like eggs) then putting it on bread. My hubby liked it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I pan fried this in a little olive oil. I topped it with red onion, pickles and mayo. My wife really liked it (and she did NOT like the idea of tofu-anything). She agreed that we'll have this one or two times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Nothing special, but a nice, easy (simple) tofu recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States