Tofu 'Fish' Fillet Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe....I did freeze the tofu and did get the "meatier" texture...the only thing I would change is adding more kelp powder probably 2 tsp instead of 1 and that's it...this is "added" to our menu permanently :) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glam Glam Fingal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I did not have kelp powder so I did my best to crush up nori-sheets along with the breadcrumbs in a blender. These were easy to make once the tofu was prepped; I froze mine, thawed, then squeezed out most of the water before using in this recipe. I also made a vegan slaw to put on top of the sandwich (didn't use the dressing recipe) and it was so good! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LenoreRockchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hays, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was alright. It probably would have been better if I had fried the tofu, but a lot loss healthy. I didn't find it had much of a "fish" taste, so maybe next time I will increase the kelp? All in all I found it to be a bit bland. It was still edible and I liked it, but I would probably look for another recipe next time I make something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very good mock fish fillet, but I cut my tofu into strips to make sticks. I added more seasoning then called for & since I didn't have bread crumbs on hand and didn't want to take the time to toast bread, used ritz crackers, but forgot to omit the salt so they were a tad bit salty. I'll definately make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Though I prefer Jennifer McCann's Tofu Fish Sticks, this recipe is good. I just wanted to say...anytime I make tartar sauce I add about 1/4 of an onion to mine. The taste is way better. This one is just really bland. Also if you know you are going to be eating fish the day before make it that night so the flavors combine really way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I followed Susan's suggestions for the recipe and it turned out really well. I had a bunch of kelp powder that I acquired and I've been looking for ways to use it...this was a great way for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
My husband and my meat-eating husband both loved this recipe. Definately drain, freeze, thaw, and then pat dry before cookings. I also put the breading along with a little flour in a gallon ziplock bag and gently rolled the fillets to coat. Oh, and I used garlic salt and ommitted the extra salt. I ended up cooking them for 25 minutes on one side and then flipping them and cooking them for an additional twenty minutes on the other side to get them nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was okay..my kids loved it, but I thought it was just "o.k" It was pretty bland, I wish I would have added more seasoning to it. I cut them in bite size pieces and pan fried them in a bit of olive oil. I may make them again for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My whole family loved this, even my 3 year old ate a whole sandwich and asked for another patty. Be sure to drain the tofu thoroughly and the breading will stick well. I didn't have any fall off. I baked them and sprayed non-stick spray on the tray and on the tops of the patties (flip half way through cooking, but most of the crispiness comes when you toast the buns. I cut the tofu in 7 slices. I used prepared tartar sauce. These even reheated well in the microwave! Great recipe and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
ATTENTION: If you want your "fish" patties to turn out with more of a meat texture, purchase firm or extra firm tofu and freeze it before using. Then, thaw it in a colander and squeeze ALL the liquid out of it before you slice it. If you do not squeeze out the liquid, you will end up with a patty that is mushy and the breading WILL NOT STICK. If you are using the traditional block of tofu, slicing it into 5 or 6 slices also helps. Kelp powder is made from ocean kelp and adds lots of nutrients plus gives it more of a "fish" flavor. If you don't use it, its still good, but don't expect too much of a "fish" flavor. Excellent recipe if you use these tips! Thanks for a great recipe for vegetarians!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cloverdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States