Tofu Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This was great. It reminds me of a Frostie (R). I put it in the meat drawer so it would get really cold. That helped. When I made it I just melted the chocolate in the microwave in a glass 2 cup measure. I also put just under 1 T vanilla. A whole T seemed like alot. Next time I will use the whole T and see how that tasts. I have been trying to get Tofu in mine and my childrens diet and this was great. Now I don't have to worry if all they want is there Veggi and fruit and then this for dessert. There is enough protien to eliminate the meat that I usually serve at each meal. I also loved how there is no need to add sugar. Thank you for submitting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I tried this recipe using Extra Firm tofu and it was pretty good for "health food!" I found it to be more similar to mousse rather than pudding or brownie batter as one reviewer suggested. I definitely recommend a food processor over a blender as my $100 Waring was very bogged down with it. I will definitely experiment with this recipe again, trying less firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This pudding is wonderful.....I added 3 packs of Splenda for a little extra sweetness and a tsp. of apple cider vinegar. Serve this with fat free Cool Whip and you have a very healthy, delicious dessert. PS.......I tried 1 tsp. raspberry vinegar instead of the apple cider and it was WONDERFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RITA51

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I added 3 tsp. Splenda (sugar would work too) to make it just a little sweeter. I topped each serving with whipped cream, mini chocolate chips and a few frozen raspberries. It was a hit for dessert & so easy with the food processor. I will make this often! Thanks Deda! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I loved this pudding! I used soft tofu instead of firm, and the texture was fantastic! (It was kind of like a mousse) No one could tell that this was made with tofu, and everyone who tried gobbled it up. I will definitely make this again, but I might try using milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
How fun was this? Yes, it was more like a moose than a pudding but great nontheless. I will make again and maybe spruce it up with a quick graham cracker bottom or like another viewer mentioned, some different flavor chips. Thank you for such a great dessert recipe I can give to my vege guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I thought I was going to hate it. Because I tasted it when it first came out of the blender and all I could taste was the tofu. I let it chill overnight and then ate half of it the next morning because it was so good! It did remind me of mousse or even ice cream! I added a little bit more milk to it because I was having trouble mixing it in the blender. I also added a tablespoon of peanut butter and a packet of splenda and equal. I used 3/4 cup chocolate chips because I had 14oz of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I tried this last night in my blender and it worked fine - just had to stop and stir with a spatula a few times. It's true that it tastes funny if you eat it right away. Make sure to give it plenty of time to chill. I'd say 24 hours would be ideal. Then top with some whipped cream and oh boy! We had the bowl licked clean. My husband is suggesting increasing the chocolate content a bit and I agree. I also took the suggestion of adding 3 tbsp of sugar to the original recipe. This recipe is my first attempt at using block tofu and I will be using it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe! I used Milk Chocolate Morsels, and 2 packets of Splenda (a sugar substitute) for a little extra sweetness. A few "musts": 1. Use Silken Tofu; 2. After mixing all ingredients with your mixer, use a stick blender to emulsify and make it extra creamy; 3. Chill overnight to set and let flavors blend. I'm going to try it with Butterscotch Morsels next! A super recipe--especially for our lactose-intolerant loved ones. Thanks, Jenni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
LOVE IT ! This is actually the first "tofu recipe" that I have ever made. I melted my chocolate in the microwave. It didn't melt completely, so you got tiny bits of chocolate in every bite. My kids loved it with a nondairy "cool whip" type topping. Also good with a couple of sliced strawberries on top as well. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe, it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States