Tofu Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This was surprisingly not bad. Like another reviewer said, you can't really forget that it's tofu, but I don't mind the flavour of tofu so it didn't bother me. It does have chocolate in it, which has a lot of fat and calories, but it's still pretty healthy because of all the soy protein. Also, you don't have to add any sugar, so that's a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This was great. It reminds me of a Frostie (R). I put it in the meat drawer so it would get really cold. That helped. When I made it I just melted the chocolate in the microwave in a glass 2 cup measure. I also put just under 1 T vanilla. A whole T seemed like alot. Next time I will use the whole T and see how that tasts. I have been trying to get Tofu in mine and my childrens diet and this was great. Now I don't have to worry if all they want is there Veggi and fruit and then this for dessert. There is enough protien to eliminate the meat that I usually serve at each meal. I also loved how there is no need to add sugar. Thank you for submitting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe! I used Milk Chocolate Morsels, and 2 packets of Splenda (a sugar substitute) for a little extra sweetness. A few "musts": 1. Use Silken Tofu; 2. After mixing all ingredients with your mixer, use a stick blender to emulsify and make it extra creamy; 3. Chill overnight to set and let flavors blend. I'm going to try it with Butterscotch Morsels next! A super recipe--especially for our lactose-intolerant loved ones. Thanks, Jenni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Sorry, no one really liked this recipe in our house. Had a funny aftertaste, though whipped cream helped it a lot. I followed the recipe to a T but ours was kind of runny. The chocolate chips add a lot of fat and calories. I guess this would be a good recipe for people who are lactose intolerant though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I really liked the texture of this pudding- very creamy (I used soft tofu). However, I felt the tofu taste was still very strong, better after 24 hours, but next time I will try using twice as much chocolate, maybe a little sugar. The 2-year old I nanny for really liked it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
You can't quite forget it's tofu, but it's not too bad for a guilt free dessert. No luck on getting the husband to eat it tho. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WODAKING

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I tried this last night in my blender and it worked fine - just had to stop and stir with a spatula a few times. It's true that it tastes funny if you eat it right away. Make sure to give it plenty of time to chill. I'd say 24 hours would be ideal. Then top with some whipped cream and oh boy! We had the bowl licked clean. My husband is suggesting increasing the chocolate content a bit and I agree. I also took the suggestion of adding 3 tbsp of sugar to the original recipe. This recipe is my first attempt at using block tofu and I will be using it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
You can definitely still taste the tofu, but much less so after you chill it for at least 2 hours. I used silken tofu instead of firm and the texture was a cross between pudding and mousse- not bad! I made it low carb by using sugar-free dark chocolate. Overall, pretty good considering it's healthy, easy and in my case, very low in carbs. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I thought I was going to hate it. Because I tasted it when it first came out of the blender and all I could taste was the tofu. I let it chill overnight and then ate half of it the next morning because it was so good! It did remind me of mousse or even ice cream! I added a little bit more milk to it because I was having trouble mixing it in the blender. I also added a tablespoon of peanut butter and a packet of splenda and equal. I used 3/4 cup chocolate chips because I had 14oz of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
How fun was this? Yes, it was more like a moose than a pudding but great nontheless. I will make again and maybe spruce it up with a quick graham cracker bottom or like another viewer mentioned, some different flavor chips. Thank you for such a great dessert recipe I can give to my vege guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States