Tofu Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I thought I was going to hate it. Because I tasted it when it first came out of the blender and all I could taste was the tofu. I let it chill overnight and then ate half of it the next morning because it was so good! It did remind me of mousse or even ice cream! I added a little bit more milk to it because I was having trouble mixing it in the blender. I also added a tablespoon of peanut butter and a packet of splenda and equal. I used 3/4 cup chocolate chips because I had 14oz of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I wasn't expecting much from pudding made with tofu, but tried it because my daughter had a milk allergy... and it was really good! I use silken tofu, and I think the pudding tastes like chocolate mousse, so that's what I tell people I'm serving. They're always surprised when they find out it had tofu in it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
This is not that good. You can taste the tofu. I added a 1/2 c. to get rid of the tofu taste and it barely helped. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Excellent! Even my husband loved it, and he's very picky! I used a 12 oz block of silken firm tofu, 1 cup of semi sweet choc. chips, 1.5 tbsp water with 1 tbsp brown sugar, 3 tbsp very vanilla soy milk, and 1 tbsp creme de cacao. I only had about 1/4 tsp vanilla extract left, so that's all I used. I blended the tofu in a food processor with the liqueur. Then I added the chocolate, melted with all the other ingredients. I blended until it was REALLY smooth. I refrigerated the whole thing for 4 hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I loved this pudding! I used soft tofu instead of firm, and the texture was fantastic! (It was kind of like a mousse) No one could tell that this was made with tofu, and everyone who tried gobbled it up. I will definitely make this again, but I might try using milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
LOVE IT ! This is actually the first "tofu recipe" that I have ever made. I melted my chocolate in the microwave. It didn't melt completely, so you got tiny bits of chocolate in every bite. My kids loved it with a nondairy "cool whip" type topping. Also good with a couple of sliced strawberries on top as well. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe, it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I tried this last night in my blender and it worked fine - just had to stop and stir with a spatula a few times. It's true that it tastes funny if you eat it right away. Make sure to give it plenty of time to chill. I'd say 24 hours would be ideal. Then top with some whipped cream and oh boy! We had the bowl licked clean. My husband is suggesting increasing the chocolate content a bit and I agree. I also took the suggestion of adding 3 tbsp of sugar to the original recipe. This recipe is my first attempt at using block tofu and I will be using it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
FANTASTIC! Wonderful texture and taste; a pudding that you need not feel guilty about eating the entire bowl, as you're gobbling up all those healthy isoflavins. I think I'm gonna try it with Butterscotch Chips (or maybe even Carob) and see if it turns out as good as the chocolate. Thanks again for a super, low-lactose yummy pudding...methinks I'll make some more.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I added 3 tsp. Splenda (sugar would work too) to make it just a little sweeter. I topped each serving with whipped cream, mini chocolate chips and a few frozen raspberries. It was a hit for dessert & so easy with the food processor. I will make this often! Thanks Deda! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I received a coupon for a free package of firm tofu, and found this recipe, (as well as website), while doing an online search. I'm a newbie to tofu, and I found the pudding to be quick, easy, and very "authentic" tasting! (It reminded me a little of brownie batter). I also happened to have all the ingredients, including some leftover chocolate chips, right in my kitchen. It worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States