Tofu Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
YUM!!! I substituted almond extract (only half the amount) for the vanilla because I was out. So good! Very quick to make, great texture and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was gritty and a little bitter. Didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I was so surprised by the wonderful mousse like texture of this pudding! the taste of tofu was a little strong but it was still great. As a fun note, if you're also making the Vegan Chocolate Cake, try using dark semi-sweet baking chocolate instead of the chocolate chips and it'll make a great topping for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Good stuff! So easy too! I used dark chocolate chips and a little dark premium chocolate. It wasn't sweet enough for my teen boys, but too bad for them, more for me ;-) I have made this a few times now(luv it). This time I did 70% chocolate and added 1/4 cup nutella(needed more soya), would do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Excellent! Even my husband loved it, and he's very picky! I used a 12 oz block of silken firm tofu, 1 cup of semi sweet choc. chips, 1.5 tbsp water with 1 tbsp brown sugar, 3 tbsp very vanilla soy milk, and 1 tbsp creme de cacao. I only had about 1/4 tsp vanilla extract left, so that's all I used. I blended the tofu in a food processor with the liqueur. Then I added the chocolate, melted with all the other ingredients. I blended until it was REALLY smooth. I refrigerated the whole thing for 4 hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I thought this was okay, and I probably would not make it again. I used a soft silken tofu and added two packets of Splenda for sweetness (which it needed). The tofu flavor definitely stands out (even after chilling for 24 hours), but for those who aren't very familiar with tofu, it would be hard for them to identify the source of the unusual taste; all in all, if you did not tell anyone, I think you could get away with serving it and having them think it's a mousse with a dark, complex flavor (when I served it, people guessed that it had a liqueur in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Awesome, creamy and yummy!! Would never know it had tofu in it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I wasn't expecting much from pudding made with tofu, but tried it because my daughter had a milk allergy... and it was really good! I use silken tofu, and I think the pudding tastes like chocolate mousse, so that's what I tell people I'm serving. They're always surprised when they find out it had tofu in it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I tried this recipe in an attempt to get my chocoholic (dairy sensitive) toddler to consume a little more protein today, and it worked! I liked it too, but I'm Polynesian and can eat the whole block of tofu plain. I added a little agave syrup (natural sweetener like honey) because I like things a little sweeter. Next time I might try this in my blender in two batches because it was a lot to put in at once and a little difficult to blend to the creamy smoothness I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Good stuff! Sets really well in the fridge. I used normal tradditional chinese tofu that my mom bought. Just had a cup and its delish. I added two packets of Fructose for sweetness and used chocolate soy milk. I think I added too much chocolate or something cuz there was a slight bitter after taste. I honestly can't tell it's made from tofu but there is a very very slight aftertaste of soy. I only noticed it cuz I was looking out for tofu taste. Great texture. Maybe I'll play with the flavours and try lemon juice for a lemon pudding instead of chocolate or use coco powder and a sugar substitute to cut down the calories. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States