Tofu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
NOT a replacement for cheesecake, but it IS a healthy alternative. I added 1-2 Cups fresh strawberries, to make strawberry cheesecake. I brought it in to work for a potluck, as many co-workers are vegan. The vegans loved it, and have asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I didn't try this particular recipe, but I have had tofu cheesecake and liked it. I just found out something about tofu from a Japanese friend and thought I'd pass it along, although many people may know it. This recipe doesn't say to drain the tofu, and for a recipe like tofu steak, for instance, you have to drain it very well. Those who got a runny product may want to drain the tofu for a day or more in a cold place and then put a paper towel on top and press down with a heavy object to get the last of the liquid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn G. Obara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwikwi44
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I just made this, I loved it!!! Only thing I did different was leave it in oven longer.. Altogether cooked it for an hour and 10 mins then I let it cool down added sugar free strawberry paste n strawberries n let it refrigerate over night. It did have more of a custard texture to it but it was delicious??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I made this using 1 silk tofu & 1 extra firm tofu. I also used butter for oil. I added 1 egg & 1 cup coconut for a friend who loves coconut ;, too. For crust I used 1 c.crushed pretzels; 1/4 c.sugar; 1/4 c. butter & 1 c. coconut. I placed the crust in a bundt pan pressed against the outer side & bottom. I poured the batter in and cooked from 30 min to an hour until well set. After cooling I released w/knife the crust from the pan and the set "custard" from the inner side. After turning the pan over a base plate I placed it in the frig to cool. I cut 25 pieces. Really, really good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Based on previous reviews: I cut the sugar to 3/4 c., tripled the amount of vanilla, added 2 eggs and 2 T tapioca flour. I got it smooth using a hand blender. It took a little over an hour to bake. Pretty good, but needed strawberry topping to hide the slight tofu flavor. My picky dairy-free son did like it, and he LOVES (and misses) real cheesecake, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
It was too sweet for me. My daughter tried some too and she usually eats everything, but rejected it after one small bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Pleasantly surprised... we're not vegan - just trying to make some healthier choices - made a warm berry coulis with just 3 tbsp of sugar for sweetening...yummy enough that even our 10 yr old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
the husband and i are total dessert heads. in an effort to stave off the extra pounds, i try to only make vegan desserts with whole ingredients and without a lot of added sugar. i thought i would try this one to go with some fresh blueberry sauce i had leftover from breakfast, and it definitely exceeded our expectations. the first time i made it, i halved the sugar and doubled the lemon juice, then baked for 50 minutes, and it came out great. i will trade the density of real cheesecake for the healthfulness of organic non-gmo tofu and lack of guilt any day!!! i'm making this pie again with lime juice and lime zest instead of lemon to try and emulate the feel of a key lime pie. thanks for a good, SIMPLE vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I've tried this. The trick is to Add REAL vanilla flavoring to the tofu the day before, the sugar, and lemon juice. Blend this together with food processor or super high powered blender. If your blender sucks you wont get a good consistency. Once blended, pop this in the fridge and let it set over night or the next 2 days so the Vanilla flavor can overpower the bean taste. If you like a little kick to your cheesecake, add some other flavoring (rum, coconut, strawberry, almond etc.) and let the tofu marinate in the chosen flavoring over night. Add the other ingredients after the marinating and then bake. Tastes JUST like cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalKiara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Use half firm and half silken tofu for the best consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States