Tofu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Pleasantly surprised... we're not vegan - just trying to make some healthier choices - made a warm berry coulis with just 3 tbsp of sugar for sweetening...yummy enough that even our 10 yr old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
the husband and i are total dessert heads. in an effort to stave off the extra pounds, i try to only make vegan desserts with whole ingredients and without a lot of added sugar. i thought i would try this one to go with some fresh blueberry sauce i had leftover from breakfast, and it definitely exceeded our expectations. the first time i made it, i halved the sugar and doubled the lemon juice, then baked for 50 minutes, and it came out great. i will trade the density of real cheesecake for the healthfulness of organic non-gmo tofu and lack of guilt any day!!! i'm making this pie again with lime juice and lime zest instead of lemon to try and emulate the feel of a key lime pie. thanks for a good, SIMPLE vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I've tried this. The trick is to Add REAL vanilla flavoring to the tofu the day before, the sugar, and lemon juice. Blend this together with food processor or super high powered blender. If your blender sucks you wont get a good consistency. Once blended, pop this in the fridge and let it set over night or the next 2 days so the Vanilla flavor can overpower the bean taste. If you like a little kick to your cheesecake, add some other flavoring (rum, coconut, strawberry, almond etc.) and let the tofu marinate in the chosen flavoring over night. Add the other ingredients after the marinating and then bake. Tastes JUST like cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalKiara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Use half firm and half silken tofu for the best consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Most definitely use silken tofu. It was creamy but not rich like cheesecake at all. I baked it for 1 hour. The taste was a bit too sweet for me. I needed the tartness of lots of strawberry topping to counteract the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was not a pleasant. It tasted like sweet and slightly tangy tofu on crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made it without any topping and used a gluten free graham cracker crust. My teenage girls begged me to make it again. When I told them what it was made of they were surprised but asked me to still make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
First, if you are not vegan or vegetarian, let me warn you, this will NOT taste like a traditional cheesecake you are used to. However, that being said, if you go into this, looking for an alternative cheesecake-like dessert, realizing that anything with tofu in it will NOT taste like cream cheese, then you should be fine. I personally am not a vegan or vegetarian, however I do like to eat like one periodically to give my body a rest from animal products. So when I took a class on vegan cooking at our local whole foods market, we were introduced to this recipe. I like it! It's got a consistency like cheesecake as long as you use a good quality tofu. There are several different types of 'firm' tofus out there and getting a good quality, usually paying a bit more, at a whole foods or vegan grocer, you will have better results. I tried this recipe once, with a tofu brand I was not familiar with from my local regular grocery store and I think they must have frozen the tofu prior to being on the shelf, which some grocers do, not knowing that it changes the consistency and the usability drastically. To the other reviewer that couldn't get her tofu to blend properly, I would bet that her tofu was frozen at one time. If you are wanting to surprise your vegan and/or vegetarian friends with a treat, I would recommend this. They will enjoy it since they are accustomed to the flavors of tofu and would be very appreciative. I made this for my step-daughter and she was in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
The texture of this was unbelievable - so creamy, just like real cheesecake! The flavor, however, was not so great. Surprisingly, it had a VERY strong tofu flavor. :) I didn't use lemon juice, so maybe that would have somehow disguised the flavor better, but since I was using chocolate graham crackers for the crust (they were all I had), I added cocoa powder rather than lemon to the cheesecake mixture and thought that would disguise the tofu flavor...but no. It was okay, but it needed serious doctoring up in order to taste more like dessert and less like tofu. I will have to try stronger flavors the next time I make this - perhaps using canned pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice? Maple syrup? But I will definitely make this again! Seriously, the texture is great. I also love the (relative) healthfulness of this concept. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this a few days ago. It was wonderful! But because I'm gluten free I used a nut recipe for the crust. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States