Tofu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Most definitely use silken tofu. It was creamy but not rich like cheesecake at all. I baked it for 1 hour. The taste was a bit too sweet for me. I needed the tartness of lots of strawberry topping to counteract the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was not a pleasant. It tasted like sweet and slightly tangy tofu on crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made it without any topping and used a gluten free graham cracker crust. My teenage girls begged me to make it again. When I told them what it was made of they were surprised but asked me to still make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
First, if you are not vegan or vegetarian, let me warn you, this will NOT taste like a traditional cheesecake you are used to. However, that being said, if you go into this, looking for an alternative cheesecake-like dessert, realizing that anything with tofu in it will NOT taste like cream cheese, then you should be fine. I personally am not a vegan or vegetarian, however I do like to eat like one periodically to give my body a rest from animal products. So when I took a class on vegan cooking at our local whole foods market, we were introduced to this recipe. I like it! It's got a consistency like cheesecake as long as you use a good quality tofu. There are several different types of 'firm' tofus out there and getting a good quality, usually paying a bit more, at a whole foods or vegan grocer, you will have better results. I tried this recipe once, with a tofu brand I was not familiar with from my local regular grocery store and I think they must have frozen the tofu prior to being on the shelf, which some grocers do, not knowing that it changes the consistency and the usability drastically. To the other reviewer that couldn't get her tofu to blend properly, I would bet that her tofu was frozen at one time. If you are wanting to surprise your vegan and/or vegetarian friends with a treat, I would recommend this. They will enjoy it since they are accustomed to the flavors of tofu and would be very appreciative. I made this for my step-daughter and she was in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
The texture of this was unbelievable - so creamy, just like real cheesecake! The flavor, however, was not so great. Surprisingly, it had a VERY strong tofu flavor. :) I didn't use lemon juice, so maybe that would have somehow disguised the flavor better, but since I was using chocolate graham crackers for the crust (they were all I had), I added cocoa powder rather than lemon to the cheesecake mixture and thought that would disguise the tofu flavor...but no. It was okay, but it needed serious doctoring up in order to taste more like dessert and less like tofu. I will have to try stronger flavors the next time I make this - perhaps using canned pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice? Maple syrup? But I will definitely make this again! Seriously, the texture is great. I also love the (relative) healthfulness of this concept. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this a few days ago. It was wonderful! But because I'm gluten free I used a nut recipe for the crust. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Great recipe! It does not taste like cheese cake because it is NOT cheese cake. It is tofu cake and it is a DELICIOUS tofu cake! Would not mind a way to make it creamier. And wouldn't mind a way to infuse some more flavors into it. Not sure how I'd do that, but could be amazing with Kluah? I also had to bake it longer... Like about twice as long.but it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian MacNevin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe for starters, but mine was runny and did not really taste like "cheesecake." Remade it with following changes: added two large eggs and two tablespoons white flour, plus the grated rind of a lemon, and mixed in food processor. THOSE results were very NY Cheese-cake-ish, and a great pareve desert with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This turned out really good. My husband who is a serious cheesecake fan even liked this a lot. I did add in a small amount of dairy free cream cheese. But, not enough to really change the recipe much. Also, for those who are not getting the tofu creamy enough, ensure that you are using Mori Nu Silken Firm Tofu. You will know that you are using the right stuff because it will come out of the box very silky and smooth looking to begin with. The other tofu's are not silky smooth even before blending. This is really a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I beat this for a long time and couldn't get the tofu to get creamy or smooth. The tofu taste was really strong and basically inedible. I know this can successfully be done but I think silken tofu may be the right form of tofu to use to get a smoother cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States