Tofu Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar cheese but that's about all I did differently and the way the recipe was written they really would not have turned out had I not put in about a half a cup of flour because it was so watery. Tip to all and to myself: (next time), make sure you drain the tofu really well, because if you leave too much water it won't work. That said, with the flour that I put in, they turned out and they were tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Very very good. I made a couple of changes: 1)crumbled the tofu with my hands, (better bonding consistency) 2. added a tablespoon of ketchup and tablespoon of mustard to mixture 3. used zucchini instead of celery 4.refridgerated for 20 min 5. fried two minutes on each side in not a lot of oil and then put in over for remainder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
As a Peace Corps volunteer, Im always looking for easy vegetarian recipies that can be made with basic ingredients. These burgers were fantastic and even worked out in improvised conditions. I added mushrooms and peppers since celery doesnt exist here and that was fine. Then baked them in the oven for about an hour, making sure each side was browned. Ill make these often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
It would be really difficult to fry these because it was hard enough trying to mold them to bake but they were really good. I didn't freeze the tofu and as other reviewers suggested added shitake mushrooms. I problably won't be making this again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I had a hard time getting these to stick together, so I added a torn up bread roll to the mix and it worked great. I also cooked these in the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Like another reviewer, I used chopped shitake in place of the celery and added some chili powder. I also added an additional half egg I had sitting in my fridge. Even with the extra egg, the final mixture didn't stick together and there seemed no hope of making anything remotely resembling patties. I greased a two quart baking pan, packed the mixture in, baked it according to directions and cut it into squares instead. The end result is good and I'll probably make it again, but it's really more like a casserole than a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
My attempt at making these failed miserably. I was afraid that they wouldn't stick so I added an extra egg, and then they just wouldn't stay together in the frying pan so I baked them and they ended up tasting a bit too much like egg. I might try this recipe again just to see if I could fix my mistakes, but other than that I'm not its biggest fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Wow! These were fantastic! I changed a few things - used portobello mushrooms instead of celery, swiss instead of cheddar and I baked instead of fried. But they were easy to prepare, easy to bake and soooo yummy! Even my boyfriend ate some, and he's fanatically anti-tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
We like these better than Boca burgers -- the texture is so pleasing! I also added finely chopped shiitake mushrooms and chilled my patties in the fridge for 15-20 minutes to help them stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
These are pretty good burgers...but there are way better tofu burgers out there. I baked these as the recipe suggested and they came out great...I couldn't bring myself to fry them in that much oil...kind of defeats the purpose of eating tofu in the first place!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States