Tofu Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe! It ws my first time cooking tofu and it turned out delicious. I used lite tofu and cut way back on the oil, thereby making it very healthy as well as tasty. I threw in some garlic, too, for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It didn't turn out at all for me. They didn't stick together at all. It turn out as mush when i tried to fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Tasty. I baked them and they were nice. The need some seasoning but you can jazz them up with just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Tasted kind of like plain scrambled eggs pushed together. I did everything as the recipe asked, besides using 1/2 a cup of oil. I used 1/4th of a cup and it was still way too much. I had a problem trying to keep them together. I wouldn't mind trying this recipe again, but I would definitely add more seasonings and less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rei

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These tofu 'burgers' were great! Warranted, getting them to hold together was a challenge, (I added a dash of bread crumbs) but once they were in the pan, the oil kept them all in individual patties. I did add a little Adobo seasoning, parsley, and finely chopped red cabbage (in place of the onion) and about a tsp of dried minced onion. The consistency was a little more "fried chicken sandwich" than "burger" but delicious all the same and the whole family, including the meat-eaters, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Tried these last night for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. I was never a huge fan of tofu but I'm trying to eat better and decided to give this a shot. I used exra-firm tofu, drained for only about an hour then squeezed the heck out of it. I didn't bother with the freezing thing. I added a little bit of Worcestershire sauce and a little bit of cumin but other than that didn't do anything differently. I baked them and served them on ciabatta rolls with spinach. These won't replace my hamburgers but are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
We really liked this recipe when we tried it a couple of nights ago. It tasted great! I got frustrated when I first put it in the pan because it doesn't hold together at all. But you can just dump in the whole thing and flatten it out. Don't be tempted to cut it or anything until it has browned on the bottom so it will set up. I was too impatient. Give it about 5 minutes before you even test it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Didn't use egg and it fell apart. Tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
It was bit eggy in my opinion. When I would fry it, it smelt and looked like I was cooking scrambled eggs. Initially, I couldn't get this to hold together well in the pan either. I ended up freezing the patties and it worked better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I did not freeze tofu but instead put it in a colander and drained in the fridge for five hours. Then I crumbled it into chunks before mixing in other ingredients. If you use extra-firm tofu, it gets firm enough without freezing to be shaped into patties. I added two tbs of cornstarch as an additional binding agent. I also added miso (soy bean paste) for extra flavor. Added also shiitake mushrooms stir-fried with diced carrots. These patties are good even cold. My husband, who never cared for tofu, eats them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States