Tofu Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I did not freeze tofu but instead put it in a colander and drained in the fridge for five hours. Then I crumbled it into chunks before mixing in other ingredients. If you use extra-firm tofu, it gets firm enough without freezing to be shaped into patties. I added two tbs of cornstarch as an additional binding agent. I also added miso (soy bean paste) for extra flavor. Added also shiitake mushrooms stir-fried with diced carrots. These patties are good even cold. My husband, who never cared for tofu, eats them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
These are pretty good burgers...but there are way better tofu burgers out there. I baked these as the recipe suggested and they came out great...I couldn't bring myself to fry them in that much oil...kind of defeats the purpose of eating tofu in the first place!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
These are very tasty! I used Nasoya five spice seasoned tofu and they were wonderful. I served them like hamburgers, with lettuce, tomato, onion, ketchup etc. My boyfriend loved them, and he hates all vegetables :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
As a Peace Corps volunteer, Im always looking for easy vegetarian recipies that can be made with basic ingredients. These burgers were fantastic and even worked out in improvised conditions. I added mushrooms and peppers since celery doesnt exist here and that was fine. Then baked them in the oven for about an hour, making sure each side was browned. Ill make these often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I had a hard time getting these to stick together, so I added a torn up bread roll to the mix and it worked great. I also cooked these in the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
I thought it was fabulous. I served it on a bun with some barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These tofu 'burgers' were great! Warranted, getting them to hold together was a challenge, (I added a dash of bread crumbs) but once they were in the pan, the oil kept them all in individual patties. I did add a little Adobo seasoning, parsley, and finely chopped red cabbage (in place of the onion) and about a tsp of dried minced onion. The consistency was a little more "fried chicken sandwich" than "burger" but delicious all the same and the whole family, including the meat-eaters, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Like another reviewer, I used chopped shitake in place of the celery and added some chili powder. I also added an additional half egg I had sitting in my fridge. Even with the extra egg, the final mixture didn't stick together and there seemed no hope of making anything remotely resembling patties. I greased a two quart baking pan, packed the mixture in, baked it according to directions and cut it into squares instead. The end result is good and I'll probably make it again, but it's really more like a casserole than a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
8) I will definetly make these again one day theres plenty of time. Don't make on short notice they were worth it and next time I'll bake them. But had to add flour or else too wet. 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar cheese but that's about all I did differently and the way the recipe was written they really would not have turned out had I not put in about a half a cup of flour because it was so watery. Tip to all and to myself: (next time), make sure you drain the tofu really well, because if you leave too much water it won't work. That said, with the flour that I put in, they turned out and they were tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States