Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I fried the tofu in garlic and ginger. Used at least a teaspoon of cayenne and cut back on the peanut butter. Next time, I would deg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this exactly as written except for the cayenne which I did not have on hand. I substituted sambal olleek in it's place. I did crisp up the drained and pressed tofu first and then added it back in at the end. I love peanut butter but it seemed to me that the proportions were off. It felt like the sauce was too peanutty and too thick. I used a natural peanut butter. The sauce felt heavy and rather than coat the tofu and veggies I felt like it drowned them. I ate it but I haven't even decided whether I'll use the leftovers. I don't think I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I made this last night for dinner and really liked it. The peanut sauce was easy and delicious. The combination of flavors was very good, though I think when I make it again (and I will!) I will pan fry the tofu first as others have suggested. Thanks for the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I tried this and agree with those who say the tofu should be fried first, then the veggies. I tried it as recommended and overcooked the veggies, which were soggy and limp by the time the tofu was ready. I agree with Susan that extra firm tofu is not firm enough. You can get a more "meaty" texture by squeezing some water out of the tofu first. Also, I think the peanut flavor is a little too strong. I am going to try using half the recommended peanut butter, next time. But a nice vegetarian dish, all things considered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was great. I used more Tofu and half of the peanut sauce. I also added powdered seasonings such as tumeric, garlic, and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe step by step (w/ the exception of only a little less peanut butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Season

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was my first time ever making tofu at home and it was delicious!!!! My husband was literally scared to eat it when I told him I was making a tofu dish. He took one bite then proceeded to clean his plate. I did the same. Peanut sauce was to die for and I will be using that in other dishes too! Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regan Chatel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy. I could see hoe this could be adapted to other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixone18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I am currently trying to eat vegan so this recipe caught my attention. The only thing I changed was I swapped out the agave for two packets of stevia, and since the recipe didn't specify vinegar, I used rice vinegar to stay with that "asian" theme. The recipe was absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great easy recipe. I will say that no vegetable will cook in 5 minutes though, so figure in about 10 for them plus another few once you add the sauce. I skipped the molasses because I was using Jif (plenty of sugar in there) and we topped it with Siracha instead of using cayenne so my 2 year old would eat. He loved it though, so we'll definitely have it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States