Tofu and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
these shells are delicious. for the tofu ricotta mixture i used half cup each zucchini and carrot sauted with garlic, and also sauted spinach. topped with good 5 cheese jar sauce.. rave reviews from veggie boyfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe was pretty good; I doubled the ingredients to make two meals, so now I have another dinner all set to go in the freezer, so that's convenient. I put extra tofu in, so I wasn't fooling anyone as far as taste goes, but we all enjoy tofu so it wasn't an issue. The one thing I would modify is to add more seasonings to the filling. We found it kind of bland. I would try it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was great! I didn't have ricotta so doubled the tofu. I put fresh mushrooms and spinach in the food processor and used more zucchini, onion and carrots than called for. I also added garlic. We couldn't get enough! Healthy comfort food. I will make it definitely again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I changed this significantly. Had hoped I didn't have to rate it. Thank you for the base recipe. I used soft tofu, sub'd Xantham Gum for the egg (child allergic to egg whites), added only 1/2 cup of pre-shredded italian cheeses, no ricotta, made some homemade marinara and added part of the sauteed onion, green pepper, mushroom & garlic mixture to the tofu after mashing it instead of the carrot/zucchini/onion mixture recommeded. I will add an extra tsp or 2 of salt to the tofu mix next time to make up for the lack of salty cheese I omitted. The two 5 year olds and two 2 year olds as well as all the parents ate on this single recipe. It was plenty although we had leftover shells w/ not enough tofu mix to put in them so the kids got some pasta w/ sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this last night and my family loved it. I made the stuffing just like the recipe, I used a jar of sauce to save time, and I sprinkled a Panko bread crumb mixture on top with cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was really good, but I found I had to make way more sauce and filling. For the sauce I used a whole large can of Tomato paste and about 4 fresh diced tomatoes. I also added more spices to taste. For the filling I added 2 garlic cloves minced, and also added about 1 C chopped mushroom. I found that I had to add extra carrots and zucchini as well. An entire box of cooked shells would not fit in the 9x13 pan, but I did use all the filling to fill what I could fit in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I used a 12 oz package of pasta shells and just shredded one whole zucchini and carrot. when it came time to stuff the shells, that seemed too labor intensive for me, so I just layered the bottom of the pan with the shells and then scooped the filling over them, mixing somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Awesome recipe! I did it with chopped up spinach mixed into the cheese mixture instead of carrot and zucchini. I mised the carrot into the tomato sauce instead. Delicous and all my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Honestly, very bland. Needs more spices and I think this would be good. The texture of the tofu if you blend it really good fits right in and you'll never know its there. The tofu really needs a lot of seasoning though so don't be scared of the spices & herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was very good. I adjusted a little to use up what I had on hand and was happy with the results. I used my own pasta sauce and also substituted cottage cheese for ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States