Tofu a la Bourguignonne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I tried this recipe for my first vegetarian dinner for vegetarian friends, and it went down really well. I added mushrooms to give a bit more variety, and therefore needed a bit more wine / water to make it a bit more 'saucy'. I still found it was only enough for about 3 people, so add more tofu or other vegetables for 4 people. The 'bourgignon' taste was great and worked really well as the wine soaks into the tofu... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I substituted seitan for the tofu, and this was without a doubt the most delicious dinner I have ever made. Especially with the seitan, it is an unusually hearty vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it didn't quite meet my expectations. The previous reviewer said that the tofu soaked up the red wine flavor...I don't think it did. The tofu was a little bland. Also, the 15-20 minutes simmering did not thicken the sauce, so I had to add 1 tablespoon of cornstarch/water slurry at the end to help it along. If you are serving this as a side dish, then it produces 4 servings. However, if you are preparing this for a main course, you do only get 3 servings tops. This was an okay dish, but I probably would not make again. It was a lot of effort for something that was just a little too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was just okay. I gave it three stars because I like the sauce itself. It is a nice, flavorful, light tomato sauce. I did make a few changes, as I added more mushrooms and instead of one fresh tomato I added 1 can of stewed tomatoes which gave the sauce more juice. I did not have a problem with the sauce not getting thick after simmering it. However, the tofu was not very good with it. It did not soak up the red wine flavor even after simmering for 45 minutes, so it was very bland. Also even one whole package of tofu was too much for me--any beginning vegetarian should only use half of a package at most. In addition, the look of purple tofu is not very appetizing. I will use this recipe again, but I will use ground burger-style vegetarian crumbles instead of tofu, or just make the tomato sauce by itself and serve it over some penne pasta or liguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Pretty tasty and not difficult to put together. Not as beautiful to look at as meat bourguignonne. Fresh parsely on top after cooking would help it be more attractive, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I found the sauce to thin, but I suppose if you follow the ingredient amounts then it wouln't be, I added to much tofu (got no idea what 2 8oz boxes of tofu are in metric) so I added more wine with water, more mushrooms and tomatos. It was tasty, I don't think it lacked flavour and I found that the tofu did soak up a little of the wine flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I really found this to be blah. Doubled the mushrooms and fresh tomato. Needed a lot of salt and pepper. Still feel it needs something. I served it over a bed of wilted spinach and sprinkled it with Parmesan because it tasted more like a pasta dish than a Bourguignoone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Good basic idea but I modified the recipe a lot to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Have used this recipe as a base several times. I think the bland flavour of the tofu works excellently against the flavoursome sauce. I have also made this with Quorn and swapped the veggies around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
When choosing a wine, if you don't want to drink it, you're not going to want to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catinpas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States