Toffee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
very good recipe. I used pecans this time, and I think I'll like it even better with crushed almonds (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
LOVE IT! This is the same recipe that I have used for years and I am always asked for the recipe. Although it isn't a kid friendly recipe due to the candy temperature, both of my "little judges" rate this one a 5 star for taste! I use toasted almonds instead of Walnuts and it is too good to quit eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I am not a great cook/baker at all, and I made this toffee recipe last Christmas for my family who does not traditionally like candy. It is so wonderful and easy, we can't wait to make it this year. What makes it special is that it's not super hard and chewy, but rather it really does melt in your mouth! This is the only toffee recipe that I will use on Allrecipes.com now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
awesome this is just wonderful, i plan on making many more batches for the holiday!! thank you for this recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! Yummy! It takes a little time to get to the boiling point so be patient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Great recipe, I left out the nuts and it tastes just like a Heath bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe was very easy to make. I omitted the walnuts because I don't like them and the toffee was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Whisk it - that white separation will blend in completely. I removed it from the heat at 290. The temp rose a bit more. I'd flatten the cooling blob more next time. I omitted the nuts and added a 1/4 c of dark rum. If you have a silpat for your large jellyroll pan you can pour the candy onto that. I highly recommend very cautiously tasting the sauce as it cooks. That rum, sugar and buttery goodness will curl your toes it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I made this without nuts and it's delicious! Very easy to burn though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I've made this recipe for Christmas the last 2 years and I always get rave reviews! You really have to be careful to stir CONSTANTLY and reach 290 degrees or it does not turn out..just like any candy. Every where I go I'm asked for this recipe..it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States