Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
The temp and time was all wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and saved some of the toffee/chocolate sauce for the top. I used a 9 1/2 inch heart shaped pan and it fit perfectly. I used 4 chopped skor bars on the inside layer and 4 more on top. I baked it for an extra 30 minutes at 220. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This came out absolutely delicious... by far the best cheesecake i have made so far! BUT the timing is way off and I had to raise the temperature a bit and bake for much longer. One trick, when you turn off the oven, leave the cake in the hot oven in the bath to cool with the oven.. it will cook off a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
4 stars instead of 5 for two reasons: 1. There was way too much cream cheese mixture to fill the pan. I ended up having up about 1.5 cups extra. Maybe because the chocolate/caramel layer was so thick. 2. The cooking time is really off, and the majority of other reviewers are saying the same. I didn't trust the other reviews and followed the recipe as written. The cake was beautiful with no cracks. However, on cutting, the inside was more the texture of pudding. I believe the cake required at least another 30 minutes of cooking time, if not a full hour as others have suggested. Fortunately, the flavor is so amazing that the entire cake was eaten by family at Thanksgiving even though it was undercooked. Fix the time and it'll get 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Use an 11" pan if you have one, I had quite a bit of extra filling left when using the 9" pan. The crust mixture may need to be increased for an 11" pan however. Also, don't bother buying the toffee in candy bar form, most grocery stores sell toffee chunks in the baking aisle next to the chocolate chips and this saves having to chop up the candy bars. Just make sure you buy the chocolate & toffee mixture, not just the toffee chunks. I bought 2 bags and had enough left after adding some in the filling itself, to sprinkle over the individual slices when I served them. As other reviewers have said, I also had problems with it being nowhere near done after the suggested cooking time. Use the 160-165 center temp suggestion other reviewers have noted and it'll turn out great. All in all though, this cheesecake was really good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This cake turned out well, with a few adjustments. 1st, the cook time for me was WAY off. I ended up cooking it for about 95min at 250° after the 15min at 400°. 2nd, I would definitely use a 10in. pan, because with the 9in. it was literally to the brim (which had a lot to do with the lengthened cooking time, I’m sure). Finally, I would highly recommend using only half the chocolate/caramel layer on the bottom. I used only half and after cutting the cake it was about a ½in. layer of the chocolate/caramel mixture and the toffee pieces on the bottom. I used the other half to top the cake. I melted the chocolate and caramel separately, each with a little heavy cream, drizzled them on top and finished it with the toffee pieces. It was impressive looking. Personally, the filling was a bit “cakey” for my taste – I prefer a much creamier cake. I’m actually baking a 2nd one now that I have made with a much creamier filling and some other adjustments because this is too good not to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
My first experience with a cheesecake and (with help from reviews and tips!) PERFECT! Looked delicious and tasted even better. No sinking and no cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is the BEST cheesecake I have ever made. I did cook it about 30 minutes longer and left it in the oven while it cooled down. Really reminded me of the ones from the Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this for the dessert table at our wedding. nothing but rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I have made cheesecake every Thanksgiving for my family and friends and always get rave reviews and requests for more. My boyfriend said, "this is the worst cheesecake you have ever made." It has potential, but THIS RECIPE IS INCORRECT. I used a 9" pan, which was too small. I baked at 400F for 15 min, 225F for 2 HOURS, left the cheesecake in the oven for an hour before refrigerating, and chilled for 24 hours...still with a gooey center. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States