Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Absolutely delicious cookies, I just wanted to make this tip: if you are like me and generally swap butter for shortening in recipes, don't this time! I tried and my cookies were completely flat. When I used the amount of shortening outlined in the recipe they came out perfect. I know that it usually doesn't make a difference, but if you use butter instead of shortening in this recipe you will regret it! When done correctly these are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiyamac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I only made one change and that was swapping some of the brown sugar out for white sugar because I'm running low on brown sugar. I don't know what almond brickle chips are--I just used the Heath baking chips in it's place. This is one of the best cookies I'VE ever had, and I don't even like Heath bars. Both my kids agreed with me. I made these a little biggish, using my small cookie scoop but making the scoop "overflow" a bit over the edges. 350* for just over ten minutes and they were perfect. I liked that I could just mix up the dough and make the cookies right off and not have to chill the dough. GREAT cookie. Perfect amount of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Just finished baking these delicious cookies!! Mine turned out crispy around the edges and soft and chewy in the middle. They did not flatten out as someone else described. Perhaps because I modified recipe slighty. I used 11.5 oz bag of toll house choc chunks instead of chips and an 8 oz bag of heath bar pieces instead of almond brittle. Wonderful, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I liked the combination of shortening and butter as each makes its own contribution to the flavor and texture of a cookie. However, for my liking there was too much fat period, and the resulting cookies were greasier than I prefer, and not as thick. The flavor was good, and the cookie is not BAD, but I think reducing the total amount of shortening/butter by, say, 1/4 cup would be a vast improvement. As is, the cookie turns out much like the Nestle Toll House recipe on the back of the package, so if you're a fan of those, keep the recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
These tuned out delicious, eventhough i didn't do it right. Accidentally took the almond extract instead of the vanilla. Added almost a teaspoon. Then i smelled the extract and chekced the bottle again. Made em anyways, no white chocolate tho, just semisweet and milk chocolate chips. They were just awesome. Reminded me of a subwaycookie. So will try them next time with white chocolate and some macadamia nuts. Update: made em with the vanilla. They were kind of bland, will only use almond from now on. Update2: did this recipe change?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GotRice?
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious. I chose this cookie because my husband requested a toffee cookie. OMG, it's delicious! He could barely speak between mouthfuls of fresh-baked cookies & a glass of milk. I followed the instructions as is, but I used heath bar chunks instead of almond brickle. It produced 30 small-medium sized chewy cookes, baked at exactly 9 minutes. I think it is my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe too, since I'm not a huge toffee fan. Thanks for the recipe, Aimee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Wow! Amazing cookies!! I didn't have mini chocolate chips so I used 1 & 1/2 cups of regular size chips. I also used homemade toffee ("Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy") instead of the almond brickle chips and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I thought these were very good but I will use all butter instead of shortening next time (personal preference). Everyone I made the cookies for though thought that they were amazing! Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is a delicious recipe which won't last long in any house hold. Remember to put them in the fridge for an hour after you take them from the cooker - it helps them turn nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
this turned out to be a pretty good cookie. I did it again adding cocoa and butterscotch chips for a twist, and the recipe help up well. We like big, thick, chewy cookies, and this dough was great for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States