Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I liked the combination of shortening and butter as each makes its own contribution to the flavor and texture of a cookie. However, for my liking there was too much fat period, and the resulting cookies were greasier than I prefer, and not as thick. The flavor was good, and the cookie is not BAD, but I think reducing the total amount of shortening/butter by, say, 1/4 cup would be a vast improvement. As is, the cookie turns out much like the Nestle Toll House recipe on the back of the package, so if you're a fan of those, keep the recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great recipe!!!!!! My whole family loved it. The only thing I changed was the almond brickle chips. I used toffee brickle chips and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I love rich. I love sweet. But these were WWWWWAAAAAAAYYYYY to rich and sweet. Edited: They were better once they were completely cool and crunchy. I did like the texture and taste of the cookie part. I will probably make them again reducing amount of both chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yum! Rich and buttery, these cookies have a wonderful consistency. Immediately one of my favorites. Taste great with pecans added too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Made a few changes just to do something differernt for Christmas but still rate this recipe a 5 for sure. Batter cooks up beautifully. I added chunks of white chocolate, chopped walnuts and dried cranberries rather than the chocolate chips and brickly chips. These would be good with the addition of anything along these lines, e.g. Smarties. Will keep this as my basic cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
These are phenomenal. My Mom said they were the best cookies she's ever had. Definitely the best combo of crispy and chewy. I did sub more butter for the shortening and added more chocolate chips than called for and used Heath Bar bits. Definitely a keeper recipe! Thanks Aimee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Good base recipe but nothing special as is. Try: Skip the almond extract and add some instant coffee! Ours cooked for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
They came out really flat. I had the doough in the fridge overnight. I stopped and am now putting it in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Delicious but will use all butter next time and no shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great basic cookie recipe for cookies with any type of chips in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States