Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
these cookies are fantastic! My last batch is in the oven now and I am so happy with the way they turned out, They are incredibly soft and chewy! I adjusted the recipe to fit the ingredients I had at home: 1 8oz. package of Heath chocolate and toffee pieces and 1/2 cup regular size semi-sweet chocolate chips. I was afraid that there was going to be too much chocolate, but I actually think I should have added a little bit more. Next time I will use 1 cup chocolate chips. Thanks for the great recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
very excellent recipe I skipped the chocolate chips and doubled the vanilla they came out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I made these using a bag of Heath Candybar pieces. They got rave reviews. Note that you really need to cook them until they are turning golden brown. If you take them out too soon then the toffee does not get nice and melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Yep--definitely can't use two sticks of butter instead of shortening and butter! I just did and they are super flat. Still taste good, but don't look great. I don't buy shortening so I'll look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I didn't think they were that special. Followed the recipe exactly. They tended to spread out thinner and didn't bake very evenly (not a problem I usually have).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparrow
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
these cookies are really good, probably one of the better cookie recipes ive tried. im only rating 4 stars however, because the recipe calls for too many chocolate chips and is somewhat greasy. next time i think i will use 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 shortening, and reduce the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups. also, i didnt have almond brickle chips so i used a few heath bars instead...i pulsed them in the food processor a few times till it was small chunks and added it in with the chocolate chips. it worked great! also added two extra teaspoons of vanilla extract. overall this recipe is really yummy, i'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and they were delicious and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I think these are delicious because I love toffee. I tried it two ways. First, I tried it like one of the other reviewers and used the chocolate chunks. This caused them to flatten less, however, there was way too much chocolate and you could barely taste the toffee. The second time, I used the toffee and the mini chips, but only used 1 cup of the mini chips. They did flatten more, but you could taste the toffee this time. Like another reviewer, I also agree that these cookies turn out very greasy, however, if you let them rest awhile and cool, they don't taste so greasy. Next time, I am going to try less shortening and see what happens. Thank you for the recipe. My family loved them either way :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
VERY good! The only change we made was using 1 cup of regular chocolate chips, only because we did not have the right amount on hand. They were still great, so don't let this deter you if you're a bit short on ingredients. Also, we used Health Bar english toffee bits, not sure if that translates to the same as almond brickle. They're a tiny bit greasy, my only complaint! My cooking tine was 11 minutes, well done on the bottom and edges, chewy in the middle : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
these cookies were a smash up hit i used lard instead of shortning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States