Toffee Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Well, I've been an accomplished baker for over 40 yrs. and these did not work out for me. They sounded good, but I too came out with a batter even when using about 2 oz. of evap milk. Maybe, 1/2 stick butter (1/4 cup) instead of 1/2 cup butter? Why are they turning out so good for cs2002?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, the batter was not something that could be patted down in the pan, it was more the consistency of a brownie batter. If I make this again I would decrease the amount of butter and/or milk. I ended up just dropping the batter by spoonful on top of the caramel mixture and had to up my cooking time about 5 or 10 minutes for it to cook all the way through. If you make it the way the recipe states you can not cut it into bars. Also there was so much caramel in it, the toffee chips were unnoticiable. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I agree with everyone else. This was not crumbly it was a batter. If I make these again, I will adjust the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
The cake mixture was difficult to pat into pan. I dropped the remaining batter in clumps on top of the caramel mixture. We love gooey but these were a mess. I was taking them to an event the same day I made them and had to put the pan in the freezer to firm them up so I could at least cut them into bars. I love to bake but won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I too followed the recipe exactly and my crust was to wet! I was difficult to "pat" into the pan.So I spread it as best I could, then dropped more batter on the top.(not crumbled as recipe says) The bars were still good and chewy, but had the consistency of a brownie. Next time, I think I will cut the evaporated milk down to a 5 oz. can, not a 12 oz. can. Maybe then the batter will be crumbly. Great taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly but my batter was more of a consistency of regular cake batter...definitely not something that could be "patted" into the dish. But, I went with it anyway and adjusted the cook times by several minutes. Overall, they came out okay...not at all crunchy and more of a brownie texture. I would definitely decrease the amount of butter and/or evaporated milk before trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Only giving 1 * because these "cookies" are a gooey mess. There's really no other flavor than caramel. Might as well just eat a caramel. Sorry, not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is just like a recipe I use with devils food cake mix and choclate chips. I can't wait to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was a big hit at work! Just to make it easier on me the second time, I had not used the milk and caramels. Instead, I used caramel ice cream topping. Both versions are tasty. Super chewy, very sweet, and great with a big glass of ice-cold milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States