Toffee Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
My mom was allergic to egg, so this was the go-to recipe when I grew up...for dessert, classroom parties, pot lucks etc. As kids we used our hands to "cream" the butter and suger. It really is more like a crisp chocolate chip cookie than toffee, but still oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was a hit with both my kids and their friends. I made a few changes though. To make it more like toffee I added 1 package of toffee bits and then a 1/4 to 1/2 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips. I would also recommend if using the toffee bits to cool for 5-10 minutes and then cut and remove from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
used chocolate chunks and added a few frozen mashed bananas. excellent candidate for canna-oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan Blyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I used to make these cookies all the time. But somewhere along the line, I lost the pan I baked them in! I used a 1/2 sheet cake pan, but it was too big, and the dough spread really thin. I didn't overbake them, but they were darker than usual and VERY crunchy. My co-workers still enjoyed them, but I was a little disappointed. Not your fault, Mary Ellen - the dough itself (from the KA paddle) was DELICIOUS. Just need to replace my missing pan. MORAL: Use the right size!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I added 3 eggs and they were still dry. Completely tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Hmmm doesn't really taste like toffee. Tastes more like chocolate chip cookie squares. Anyhow everyone in my family loved them! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I added an egg, and they were good to go. The dough is not super-sweet by itself, so the flavor of the chips and/or nuts you add really stands out. I used half semi-sweet chocolate chips and half butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have a brother who is allergic to nuts, so although I liked it with nuts, for Christmas I used candy sprinkles on top of the bars after melting and spreading chocolate chips over it. It still tastes good without the nuts and can be enjoyed by those who couldnt eat it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
These are very good! I did add 1 egg to get a more chewy bar. Sweet and tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Thumbs down. Bad texture. No flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States