Toffee Bar Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is quite possibly my favorite recipe I've ever found on this site! The only alterations I made, is I use the bag of already chopped toffee chips and some chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is one of the best coffee cakes that I have baked. I have made the recipe 3 times in the past week. Once for my husband and myself, and twice to take to an outing of women golfers. Everyone loved it. Very easy, except for "smashing" the toffee bars...that required a little more effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this for my husband to take to work for a going away function and it was a huge hit. Very easy to make, tastes very yummy too!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyMunchkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend who loves coffee cake, i did increase the flour and decrease the milk each by only about 1/4 cup, this cake was delicious and stayed moist and fresh for several days!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLEENC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Very good. I made it the day prior, based on other reviewers stating that it was very moist even a day or two after prep. So moist, that it did crumble a bit when handled (oven temp/ingredients/baking time were right on). I may increase the flour / decrease the milk a little next time to firm it up just a bit more. I also substituted pre-crushed toffee bits (usually in the baking aisle by the chocolate chips) instead of crushing the bars, and substituted chopped pecans for the peanuts. Personal preference. Pecans just seem to have a sweeter flavor to them, and I think lend themselves well to a baked dessert recipe. I can't imagine this being bad with any kind of nut, however. Except pine nuts ;-). Mmmmm.......mmmmmmmm........toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Excellent recipe! This is so good the first day, but is sooooo much better the next day and stays moist for several days. I used packaged toffee bits to avoid breaking up the candy bars. We prefer the bits w/o chocolate for this recipe. We love this recipe and people with whom we've shared the cake beg us to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I made this coffee cake this past weekend. I wasn't overwhelmed with the taste and felt that it was lacking something. I think if I was ever to make it again, I would be sure to serve it alongside some caramel sauce to give it some extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I expected to LOVE this cake...and was underwhelmed. The flavor was okay, but something about using peanuts kind of ruined it for me. There are so many great coffee cakes out there. This isn't one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is pretty good but could be better. I really feel as though there is too much milk which ultimately makes the coffee cake fall apart. I liked the use of toffee and peanuts on the top, but I wouldn't include as much flour in that top crumb mixture. The flour kind of made the topping underwhelming and slightly bland. I would expect a little more sweetness from a coffee cake crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
made this recipe but instead of the chopped peanuts I've used chopped pecans , and served it warm w/ a carmel sauce and whipped cream for dessert. TYvm for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by "Flowerchild"
Home Town: Clarksburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Moosup, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States