Toe's Best Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Tasty, I used one can of diced tomatos and one can sauce, the flavors all came together perfectly. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUANNE2584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This a great salsa recipe!! Almost identical to our favorite local mexican restaurant's salsa, which they serve in a squirt bottle. Great stuff!! I didn't change anything, made exactly as recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Good restaurant-style salsa. Can be easily adjusted to suit different tastes. Add or reduce the amounts of just about everything, but the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
The salsa could be good without the cilantro...added cilantro and now I have just a huge mess of red and green to clean up. I suggest making this without the cilantro and if you want add a very, very, very, very small amount of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Loved it! I followed other reviewers and used one can tomato sauce and one can diced tomatoes for a chunkier salsa. It was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was good but hot! I made a half batch with minor changes- homemade sauce, 2 jalapenos(because I had no serranos) and the hard to measure amounts of cilantro and lime juice. Cilantro ended up being the predominant flavor and then just followed by the heat. I will make this again but try to quantify the amounts since my reason for making this is to try to find a recipe that I could make consistently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Love it! I've made this recipe several times now. Got rave reviews from guests. I LOVE it! Except that I truly can only handle mild spiciness. "Medium" pace salsa is a bit much for me. SO, I just don't use the serranos. Even "de-veining" as suggested in the notes doesn't make it a mild salsa. So I omit the serranos all together. It still tastes WONDERFUL!! THANK YOU THANK YOU! I'm going to learn how to jar this so that I can just have it whenever I want! :) It's way better tasting to me than anything I can get from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
very easy to make. I used one can sauce, and one can diced tomatoes. I omitted the serrano pepper as I didn't have one on hand. Somehow, the onion that I used was SUPER strong, so now that the flavors have mingled overnight I will add additional lime juice to tone down the overpowering onion. I usually make Pico de Gallo, but was looking for more of a Taqueria-type salsa for a dish I was making. This fits the bill. This type of salsa is sometimes referred to as 'Ranchero' salsa. Thanks, Toe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Thanks for this great salsa. Easy to make. Hit at our holiday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supermom73

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States