Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
These really are great, tender pancakes. I have made them several times and I feel it is necessary to mention that fresh blueberries are best, and that there is no need to wait the hour until making them! I have found that sprinkling the berries on the pancake after it is on the griddle works best and avoids smashing them. You can also use vegetable oil instead of the melted butter; it makes no difference, especially if you butter them afterwards anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
951 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Can you say "YUM"? This is a top of the line blueberry pancake recipe. It always comes out perfect--fluffy, yet not cake-like. It's very moist with the blueberries; not a dry pancake at all. I even made it without the blueberries one time because we ran out, and it was delicious, too. But the blueberries put it in first gear! I've made it about a dozen times so far. Yes, the other reviews are correct in that you don't have to wait an hour to cook it--you don't even have to wait at all. They taste the same either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
666 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This recipe is amazing. I have made it several times for several people and they all agree it is GREAT! It is very easy to make and the brown sugar & butter topping is yummy. All ages like it. Only draw back is you have to remember to start to make about an hour before you want to make them. I left them one time for just fifteen minutes and they were still fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
516 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Great blueberry pancakes! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
GREAT WORTH THE WAIT. USE FRESH BERRIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
The pancakes didn't have much flavor. I definitely needed syrup to be able to eat them. I liked the texture of it though. Very easy to make, indeed. You must drain blueberries. Mine looked totally green pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
terrific pancakes, well worth the hour wait. I liked them with the butter and brown sugar. My husband preferred syrup. Also I used fresh blueberries. Frozen is fine in the winter and if it colors the batter, so what. It doesn't affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I thought that this recipe was great! You do have to plan ahead for the hour wait, but the fluffy raised texture of the pancakes is worth it. My 4-year old loved them plain eaten out-of-hand like a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
My batch of pancakes turned out fabulous. They were fluffy and had a good consistency. I loved the recipe, but I added more sugar (about 2 tablespoons more) -- So I couldn't give it a complete 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These pancakes are very good. I used 1 pint of fresh blueberries, sprinkling some into the batter. I had 1 cup of buttermilk so I used that up and 1/2 T of butter for the griddle. The batter has a nice consistency, more on the thicker side. I left it to sit for a few minutes. While they were on the griddle I added a few more blueberries. The pancakes puffed up nice and light. When they were done I had about 6 medium size pancakes (I was making for two people). To finish off my pancakes, I spread on a little more butter, topped it off with the remainder of blueberries, and drizzled a little maple syrup over. Mmmm...these were awesome good. Fluffy and thick, moist, and delicous! (I think it helped using the buttermilk). Using fresh, not frozen, blueberries really took these pancakes over the top. You will notice a huge difference in freshness, taste, and quality. The blueberries were bursting with flavor, oozing with its' sweet purple juices when cutting into the pancakes with a fork. The pancake texture was just right. Other fresh fruit would substitute just as well such as bananas, peaches, apples, mixed berrie, etc. I don't think it's necessary to wait an hour before making the pancakes-they came out just fine. The only reason I can think the recipe calls for you to wait 1 hour is to allow the baking powder to activate in the batter-making a more thick, fluffy pancake. (you will see little bubbles perk up in the batter). I served these pancakes with maple flavored bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States