Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Truthfully, many recipes I try on this site can disapoint. This one is an absolute winner. Did the dry ingredients the night before in a big bowl and had my grandson overnight who had begged for pancakes. Added the milk, egg, butter and FRESH blueberries in the a.m. and it came together in a flash. I did let it proof for an hour. The batter is thick, so I put three at a time on my stovetop grill and spread the batter out a little. Kept the ones that were done in a low oven, heated the maple syrup and had fresh butter out to smear. Honestly, these were simply wonderful and I will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Use fresh berries! This recipe was great! I added lemon juice to the batter also. I could not taste the lemon. I think adding on a little lemon on top would zest it, if you are looking for a citrus taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This recipe was just okay. The pancakes did come out beautiful and fluffy, but my fiance and I thought the batter was pretty bland tasting and I had even added a touch of vanilla to it. just reading other reviews, i saw someone say they think it should be more than 1/2 tbs of melted butter added, maybe even 1/2 a cup. Maybe that was the issue and I think it may need at least a tablespoon of sugar. MIGHT try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. I did a breakfast for dinner a few evenings ago and made a half recipe. This turned out 3 nice and fluffy pancakes. Along with a couple of fried eggs and sausage patties, these pancakes made me a happy man. This morning I whipped out some more batter (a half recipe) and turned it into a great Belgian waffle. To let the baking powder do it's job, I did let the batter sit for at least an hour both times. I like sweet so I also used a teaspoon of sugar for the pancakes and 2 teaspoons of sugar for the waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Excellent pancakes! I also add the blueberries to the tops of the pancakes once on the griddle (or I make a compote to dollop on top of the pancakes once on the table - yum!). But to add a bit more flavor, I also add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and sometimes a bit of cinnamon to the batter. I have made them where I've waited an hour and I've made them after sitting for only about ten minutes and honestly, I can't tell the difference, so I don't wait the hour anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Try adding 1 banana smashed to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I believe there is a mistake in this recipe, it should be 1/2 CUP Melted Butter, not 1/2 tablespoon. If you add the 1/2 cup butter, the batter will no longer be too thick and dense, and you will get the full 12 light and fluffy pancakes. They are delicious - and one added suggestion would be to sprinkle the blueberries with a little flour before folding them into the batter...that way your batter will not turn colors and the blueberries will stay together better. Overall an excellent recipe for blueberry pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Good recipe. I have made buttermilk blueberry pancakes so many times over the years I have the recipe imprinted on my brain. The biggest difference in my recipe is to substitute fresh buttermilk for MOST of the regular milk, then actually INSERT the blueberrys in the batter as it's cooking on the griddle--before you turn them. I also use a little more baking powder than soda, and add some melted butter to the batter. Good flavor. Be careful though, the blueberry's get pretty hot and can burn if the get chomped on immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyindetummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My 2 1/2 year old grandson helped me make these this morning, so they're definitely easy. We couldn't wait the whole hour, so only waited 20 minutes. They were fluffy and delicious. The only problem was my grandson who adores blueberries fresh would not eat them. Something about the texture when they are cooked, or who knows?? Kids! Anyway his mom and I loved them. I would strongly recommend using fresh blueberries, and you can double the amount to 1 cup without having too many berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These were easy and great! They were nice and thick and also tasted delicious! :) Great to eat the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States