Toasted Pumpkin Seeds with Sugar and Spice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These pumpkin seeds were amazing! I added nutmeg and extra cinamon to make them more spice tasting! Husband ate so much that i will have to double the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Although I will eat roasted pumpkin seeds, I am not usually a big enough fan that I go to the effort of making them as easy as they are (especially when my chickens enjoy them as they are). Well, I decided to try these with my family and then make them with them with the preschoolers I teach if they turned out well. I am glad I did; these were terrific! They reminded me of kettle corn with pumpkin spice and it worked very well! I am now a big fan of toasted pumpkin seeds and I know several others that now are too. I will make these each year when making my pie pumpkins and/or when carving pumpkins. I too used less sugar (cut down by 2 TBLS.) and it was plenty. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I loved this too! My family ate them up fast. I too reduced the sugar to 4 tablespoons and used butter instead of oil as well. They do taste like snickerdoodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlb1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heyburn, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These were pretty good. I cut down on the sugar and still had a lot wasted at the bottom of the bowl, but these have a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My previous attempt at roasted pumpkin seeds didn't go over nearly as well as this recipe. Even my eight-year-old gobbled them up. I think one key is to toast them until they are light and crispy. You can tell a difference when you are stirring them in the pan. Took about an hour for our batch. Only problem I encountered was that the plain sugar did not really "melt" in the skillet to coat the seeds the way I imagined. But they still took on enough flavor from the spiced sugar to be considered a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Yummy!!! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I soaked the seeds overnight in salted water. Then layed out on paper towels to dry out. I doubled the recipe as i had 2 cups of seeds and it turned out GREAT!! Really crispy and very tasty! Family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pismoblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
These were so good! I did it the easy way. After letting the seeds dry out over night, I just tossed them with the rest of the ingredients and toasted them in the oven at 275 for 35-40 min. I used 2 cups of pumpkin seeds and only 5 tablespoons of sugar. Awesome! I never liked pumpkin seeds until I made them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I used cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great flavor combo! I did tweak things, based on other reviews and the first batch we did. Ultimately the fave was using butter for the oil, and only one T. of sugar in the pan. I also melted the butter/sugar before adding in the seeds...stirred them enough to make sure they were coated, then put them in the dry sugar mixture. And for that, doubled the pumpkin pie spice as well as the salt. I love savory pumpkin seeds, but this might be the family's new fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States