Toasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is a fantastic variation of the typical roasted/kosher salted seeds. Be sure to soak the seeds (I soak overnight) so they absorb some of the liquid and become plump and less splintered. You can also add Soy for an added kick! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElCee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These are delicious. I did one batch exactly to recipe. Then two others...one I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. The second I let red pepper flakes heat up in the butter for a spicy flavor. They were all excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe!! I did make one or two changes. I used cooking spray rather than butter and I cooked the seed in the microwave for 2 or 3 minutes to dry them out a little. Thank you for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
So I never go back and review recipes but I had to review this one. We went to a pumpkin farm on Halloween and they had all pumpkins 5 for $5 so we bought the largest 5 we could find. We had so many seeds (10+ cups) that we were going to try several recipes. This was the first and my family told me to just make them all this way they loved them so much. I found the recipe to be very flexible. First batch I used olive oil instead of butter and added garlic salt as some recommended..FABULOUS! Second batch, ran out of olive oil so half canola..still fabulous! I didn't watch the time closely but baked each batch during a one hour tv show..stirred at the halfway point. I fast forwarded commercials so probably about 45 minutes. My only recommendation..I boiled in salt water for about 10-15 minutes and then let soak for about 10 more, while I was getting things ready. I have tried drying and/or soaking overnight..no difference..just longer and more hassle. I didn't find them too salty but I like salty anyway..I have tried making them in the past without doing this and they don't taste as flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michigancooking
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
EXCELLENT!! I am usually not a seed eater, it is something we just do for fun with the kids ... but I LOVE THESE!! SUPER GOOD! I cooked them on my stone pan, and the 250 just didn't seem hot enough after about 30 min of baking, so boosted up to 350 degrees and just watched them closely for the last half hour or so and stirred them several times. TURNED OUT GOLDEN BROWN and GREAT!! LOTS OF FLAVOR TOO! -Muskegon, MI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michigancooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Best I have found thus far. I still soaked my seeds in salt water for 2 hours before hand. I have used the oil recipes in the past and found the butter to taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Fantastic! Easy and delicious. I did not change the recipe at all (don't have to, it's wonderful). Instead of soaking the seeds overnight, I decided to "quick brine" them. I boiled them in a brine solution (very salty water) for 10 mn, removed them from heat and let them sit in the hot water for another 10 mn. I patted them dry and immediately tossed them in the ingredients listed. I let it sit for about an hour (it soaks up the flavor better). Then I roasted them at 275 for an hour (to compensate for the moister seed). They were PERFECT. I'll be doing this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Vermeland Paris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I have never toasted pumpkin seeds before but we had all these pumpkins after thanksgiving so I wanted to try it. Well I loved it. I also added garlic powder and this was so good as a healthly snack compare to other snacks out there. I wish we had more pumpkins. My three year old liked taking out the seeds from the pumpkins..lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teddybearplus2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
My normal recipe is just butter and salt, but I wanted to try something different this year. I followed this recipe exactly and it was awesome. My kids loved them! I will never go back to my basic recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
i added pepper and garlic powder and onion powder to it as well and they turned out AMAZING!!! i love this recipe. My 2 year old even says "I need more pumkin seeds" it's awesome! very good recipe! If only i could just get more seeds without having to open up a pumpkin and dig the seeds out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States