Toasted Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
TOO MUCH SALT! My family and I ate three pieces and then had to drink a full glass of water. WOW. We cut the salt in half on the next batch and it was still too salty. Then we made batches with no salt at all just to mix them together and hope the end product turned out okay. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Followed the recipe seasonings to a T and it was perfect. Added 10 cups total of cereal and snacks but changed amounts to suit our tastes. Wasn't greasy once cooled and freezes well for a nice treat when friends pop in or just when you need a good snack! Didn't find it too salty at all! Thank-you for the submit! Will definately make again and maybe try different ingredients like Asian rice crackers etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetCanuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This is a good basic recipe without the celery salt. I subb'd garlic powder for the salt and increased Worchestershire. I found some Cajun mix in the bulk foods dept of my grocery and used three cups in place of the oat cereal. This recipe is very versatile. Any snack item that has a crunchy texture can go in it. Try cheetos,fritos and garlic bites, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I'm not sure what happened with these but they didn't turn out all that well. The butter had an overwhelming greasy taste. I served them at my husbands poker game and they weren't a very big hit. I'm going to give them another try as it's probably something I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
tastes just like chex mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Didn't have all the ingredients, but went ahead with substitutions anyways. Didn't have margarine, celery salt, 2 kinds of cereal squares and mixed nuts. Instead substituted butter, gold fish, chow mein noodles, unsalted pretzels, oyster crackers, cheetos and a few chips and shakes of celery seed. Used garlic powder instead of salt. Baked at 250 for 30 minutes. My oven was starting to burn at 275. Overall, I thought it was a decent substitution (and allowed me to clean out the cubboards!). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I increased the Worcestershire sauce to 4 tablespoons and onion powder instead of celery salt. I also baked it in the Crock-Pot. Do not cover the crock, cook for 2 hours on high and 2 hours on low, stirring every 30 minutes. Yummy, easy snack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I made this for a party and it went very quick! I added bagel bites and lots more worsestershire as well as tons of garlic salt! It went over great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I added a bunch more things such as roasted soynuts and roasted peas and garlic flavored sesame sticks. Pretty popular but probably better tasting without the extras. Glass pan worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This was a very good snack mix. The seasoning is mild, but tasty. As other reviewers suggested I omitted the celery salt and used garlic powder rather than garlic salt. I baked mine in a Pyrex roasting pan and didn't have any issues with burning. My toasted oat cereal did shrivle up and look like something that had been stuck to my daughter's chair for a couple of days. Next time I will just replace them with something else. Because I have an 18 month old I replaced the nuts with Goldfish crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States