Toasted Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Yummy! I used all of these ingredients, but assembled and baked it differently. I sliced the loaf (1/2 loaf of Italian Herb Bread I from this site) in half lengthwise, like splitting a roll. I spread the butter mixture on both sides, then put them together and baked, at 350 in foil for 20 minutes. Then I added the cheese and baked the bread open-faced until the cheese melted. Served with Chicken Milano from this site. I used fresh oregano. Very good- I usually make my own garlic bread but this recipe is great. I love the olive oil addition- I had never thought of that before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe was just what I was looking for - THanks! The only advice I have for future garlic bread makers is DON"T try to broil it on a flat pan or stone! It works best in a deep dish, that way the oils don't drip out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Using the finest bread from an old Italian bakery in Milwaukee certainly doesn't hurt, but this was just simply out of this world good! And attractive too! I loved the combination of both olive oil and butter. I used a little less oregano than called for but it, too, was a nice addition. I also added some finely chopped parsley which gave it some freshness and color. Still, I think I must stress that this will only be as good as the quality of the bread you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This has to be one of the best garlic bread recipes on this site! Instead of cutting it into individual slices I just cut the loaf in half and spread the mixture onto the bread. I sprinkled some parmesan cheese instead of mozzarella and baked it at 425 for 10-12 minutes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This was very good! I used jarred crushed garlic, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I didn't cut as indicated but cut in half and made garlic loafs. I made a whole loaf of Italian Bread to go along with Greek Penne and Chicken, and almost the whole loaf went with our small family. Next time I might try adding a little parmesan cheese to the bread over the garlic butter, just family preference but it is definitely not needed. Thank you for sharing, this is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Excellent! I kinda thought that it would be weird to add the oil, but it really made a big difference. I forgot that the butter was in the microwave on "warm" and it melted, but this still came out good, I just brushed it on. I also added paprika before the cheese. Thanks Clair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Surely not the best I've ever had, but a solid, solid choice for a better than average garlic bread. This taste excellent with or without the cheese. A word to the wise; as is, you will not have enough spread to brush a full Italian loaf of bread. If you wish to brush the entire loaf, better double the spread. I had nice compliments on this. The broil times advised in the recipe were accurate, though my rack is several notches away from the broiler element, which I think worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Decent garlic bread. I can't place my finger on what it is exactly that I don't like but it is better than some of the store-bought brands. However, I've found other recipes I prefer over this. Still, it is good and went well with our steak dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was excellent. I halved the recipe and thought it would have been better with alittle more butter ingredient but it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
So delicious and easy to make - I'll never buy prepackaged frozen garlic bread! This is so much tastier, and cheaper as well. For special occastions, roasted garlic also goes well with this if you know how to roast your garlic in the oven - the flavor is slightly sweeter but it's great. You'd still use the three cloves like the recipe specifies. To learn hwo to roast garlic, go to http://appetizer.allrecipes.com/az/roastedgarlic.asp . Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States