Toasted Coconut, Pecan, and Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I made one pie for Mother's Day and made it that morning. Everyone LOVED this dessert, and some went back for seconds! Having 1 extra slice left over, I had that the next day. THERE WAS A BIG DIFFERENCE IN THE TEXTURE. IT WASN'T BAD ON MOTHER'S DAY, BUT SEEING THE DIFFERENCE ON MONDAY - I WOULD DEFINATELY MAKE THIS PIE THE NIGHT BEFORE FOR THE BETTER TEXTURE AFTER YOU CUT A SLICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I first had this pie at our favorite bed and breakfast, the Whitestone County Inn in Kingston, Tennessee. At the Whitestone this is their signature dessert and they call it Whitestone Delight Pie. I order it for dessert every time we go there, and have since made it myself. It is excellent and so easy to make! It is more than delightful; it’s divine, decadent and delicious!! 9/13/10 UPDATE – I made this again for a dinner party for 14 people. I made a graham cracker crust in my 10” springform pan. I made all of the filling and all of the coconut/pecan mixture. Worked perfectly. I cut this into 16 servings, so they were a modest size, but that’s probably a good thing because this is so rich! It was a hit! One suggestion: Take this out of the freezer about 20 minutes before serving. If you allow this to thaw completely it becomes too “loose” and sort of sags on the plate and doesn’t hold it’s shape. Still yummy, but not as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Great recipe, except I omitted the caramel. The first time I made the pies, I actually forgot the caramel on one, so I ended up doing one pie with the caramel and the other without. After reading the reviews saying it was too sweet, I have to agree. The caramel one was much too sweet, but the other was perfect! I use the recipe now to make a coconut and pecan cream pie. Everyone has loved it and asked me for the recipe!! If you think it's too sweet, just don't add the caramel... delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
A friend brought this to an office luncheon & it was such a treat! She used a graham cracker crust which went well with the other flavors. I want to try making it in a 9x13 pan, cutting into small squares for serving -- it is very rich so I think small servings would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
A very rich, wonderful pie. I used low-fat cream cheese and cut the recipe in half to make just one pie - it turned out wonderfully. I did not use as much caramel as called for, and it was still VERY sweet. Save a little caramel to drizzle over the top of each slice when you serve it. I considered using a graham crust, as some reviews suggested, but I think the added sweetness would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is a fabulous pie!! I first made this for a dinner party at my home, and it was sure a hit! My husband loved it, and has requested it several times since. I like coconut only when it is toasted. and I love caramel. Yes, it is sweet, but it is *PIE* for heavens sake! The full recipe fits nicely in a 9 x 13 pan, using a graham cracker or butter/cookie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this for Christmas. I found it really, really sweet. I also think it would be better with a graham wafer crust. If I make this again I would cut back on the caramel topping and use as many light or fat-free ingredients as I can, as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made this with a few modifications: I made one pie using a reduced fat graham cracker crust, 8 oz. light cream cheese, a container of light Cool Whip and 1/3 cup of sugar for the base. My husband and I really enjoyed it. I prefered it the second and third days when it had a chance to firm up. I think in the future I may try with different fruits - or even just omitting the coconut and adding sliced banana could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
Having just finished eating the first slice of this pie, I'm wondering if I've just sinned or died and gone to heaven. :) One thing I am sure of...if you like the sound of this pie, you'll LOVE the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful pie how ever it is extremely sweet. I agree that it needs a graham cracker crust and i think instead of condensed milk maybe vanilla pudding or something like that to reduce some of the sweet. The coconut, pecan and butter and caramel is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States