Toasted Coconut, Pecan, and Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Interesting recipe. I think it's the type of recipe you just have to try to know whether you will like it or not. When I first tasted it after letting it set overnight, I thought, "I don't know if my guests will like it", but they did-loved it. I recommend using as much sugar free/light things as you can. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk, light cool whip, light cream cheese, reduced sugar caramel. It was still a little sweet. Next time I may use sugar free cool whip and see if there is a reduced sugar milk. DEFINATELY let it set overnight or even serve it frozen-I don't think it would freeze solid. I let some chocolate chips melt on the hot crust when it first got out of the oven. I loved the chocolate tasted but it made the crust really hard to cut through when firm. Next time I may melt some chocolate sauce and drizzle with the caramel. I liked the addition of the chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this for some friends. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Great Recipe. I made it for a luncheon and it went fast. I was a bit scared because it sounded so sweet but I am so glad I went ahead and made it. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachelle Leavens-Hollingdale
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
THIS WAS SO GREAT!!!! We have this as our pecan pie for thanksgiving and it went FAST!!! So good frozen. I am gonna make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Leavens-Hollingdale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This pie was the best!! I made this for Thanksgiving last year and everybody raved about it and wanted the recipe. I am making it again this year for Thanksgiving, our new traditional pie. I'll be using one graham cracker crust shell and one oreo pie shell. Yum!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I made this for Labor Day. I made the day before so it could set. There was only a small piece of the pie left. And that was the only piece I had, and it was yummy. Alert>>This pie is very Sweet!lol:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was wonderful! I made it for a dessert contest at work & won! I used RF cream cheese, FF condensed milk & lite cool whip & it turned out great. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made this with a few modifications: I made one pie using a reduced fat graham cracker crust, 8 oz. light cream cheese, a container of light Cool Whip and 1/3 cup of sugar for the base. My husband and I really enjoyed it. I prefered it the second and third days when it had a chance to firm up. I think in the future I may try with different fruits - or even just omitting the coconut and adding sliced banana could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I made one pie for Mother's Day and made it that morning. Everyone LOVED this dessert, and some went back for seconds! Having 1 extra slice left over, I had that the next day. THERE WAS A BIG DIFFERENCE IN THE TEXTURE. IT WASN'T BAD ON MOTHER'S DAY, BUT SEEING THE DIFFERENCE ON MONDAY - I WOULD DEFINATELY MAKE THIS PIE THE NIGHT BEFORE FOR THE BETTER TEXTURE AFTER YOU CUT A SLICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
A friend brought this to an office luncheon & it was such a treat! She used a graham cracker crust which went well with the other flavors. I want to try making it in a 9x13 pan, cutting into small squares for serving -- it is very rich so I think small servings would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States