Toasted Coconut, Pecan, and Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Great recipe, except I omitted the caramel. The first time I made the pies, I actually forgot the caramel on one, so I ended up doing one pie with the caramel and the other without. After reading the reviews saying it was too sweet, I have to agree. The caramel one was much too sweet, but the other was perfect! I use the recipe now to make a coconut and pecan cream pie. Everyone has loved it and asked me for the recipe!! If you think it's too sweet, just don't add the caramel... delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This pie was great - both chilled in fridge and my fave, frozen. Made it the first time for my mother's birthday when relatives were in town. Also, brought one of the two pies to work. Everyone loved it! Gentleman at work asked for the recipe. Family said I had to make it for the next holiday get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankclay, Missouri, USA
Living In: Antonia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This pie was awesome! I made it for church homecoming and nothing was left. I had several people asking for the recipe. The only thing I done different was used graham cracker crusts and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I made this for my family today, and they loved it. I did take other review suggestions and used less caramel and low fat cream cheese. I also only made one pie and the recipe was easy to break down. I liked the regular pie shell with this but a graham crust would be great also. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lena1374
Home Town: Sheridan, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this for Christmas. I found it really, really sweet. I also think it would be better with a graham wafer crust. If I make this again I would cut back on the caramel topping and use as many light or fat-free ingredients as I can, as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Just now rating this recipe after years of making it. This is an awsome desert! I started off making it accordiing to the recipe. Eventually, I began to substitute dulce de leche for the carmel ice cream topping because I like the richer flavor. Because of its density, you have to freeze the first later of the pie solid, then layer the dulce de leche and freeze and finally add the final layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This pie turned out great! I used a graham cracker crust and froze the pies after taking some other reviewers suggestions. I plan to use this recipe in a bake-off next month at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Just rating this after 2 years! It definitely left an impression. Very good, very rich. I will make this again, sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Interesting recipe. I think it's the type of recipe you just have to try to know whether you will like it or not. When I first tasted it after letting it set overnight, I thought, "I don't know if my guests will like it", but they did-loved it. I recommend using as much sugar free/light things as you can. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk, light cool whip, light cream cheese, reduced sugar caramel. It was still a little sweet. Next time I may use sugar free cool whip and see if there is a reduced sugar milk. DEFINATELY let it set overnight or even serve it frozen-I don't think it would freeze solid. I let some chocolate chips melt on the hot crust when it first got out of the oven. I loved the chocolate tasted but it made the crust really hard to cut through when firm. Next time I may melt some chocolate sauce and drizzle with the caramel. I liked the addition of the chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this for some friends. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States