Toasted Coconut, Pecan, and Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by The Maker of Dinner
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
My children loved this pie! My oldest said " That was the best pie ever!" This pie is very, very, sweet. The toasted coconut and pecans on top are part of what makes it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Maker of Dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I first had this pie at our favorite bed and breakfast, the Whitestone County Inn in Kingston, Tennessee. At the Whitestone this is their signature dessert and they call it Whitestone Delight Pie. I order it for dessert every time we go there, and have since made it myself. It is excellent and so easy to make! It is more than delightful; it’s divine, decadent and delicious!! 9/13/10 UPDATE – I made this again for a dinner party for 14 people. I made a graham cracker crust in my 10” springform pan. I made all of the filling and all of the coconut/pecan mixture. Worked perfectly. I cut this into 16 servings, so they were a modest size, but that’s probably a good thing because this is so rich! It was a hit! One suggestion: Take this out of the freezer about 20 minutes before serving. If you allow this to thaw completely it becomes too “loose” and sort of sags on the plate and doesn’t hold it’s shape. Still yummy, but not as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I wanted to love this pie, but it was MUCH too sweet for me and my guests. I may make it again with some major changes. Like another reviewer suggested, I would make this as a thin bar (with a graham cracker bottom) instead of a pie. First, I would lightly salt my pecan/ coconut mixture to tone down the sugary flavor, use more cream cheese (12 oz) and less sweetened condensed milk (8oz). Then I'd mix the coconut/nut mixture in with the cream mixture, spreading a THIN layer over each graham cracker crust. The dessert has a great flavor, but it's simply too sweet and rich for my friends to eat more than a bite. Hopefully the above version will preserve the flavor while making it more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Excellent Pie! Very quick to put together and is super YUMMY! It is a very rich pie that can be cut into very small servings. The toasted coconuts and pecans are perfect with the cream cheese. Everyone really enjoyed this and several asked for the recipe. I would be happy to make and serve this again and again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is a fabulous pie!! I first made this for a dinner party at my home, and it was sure a hit! My husband loved it, and has requested it several times since. I like coconut only when it is toasted. and I love caramel. Yes, it is sweet, but it is *PIE* for heavens sake! The full recipe fits nicely in a 9 x 13 pan, using a graham cracker or butter/cookie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Easy and yummy. Everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRINKERJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Absolutely one of my top favorite desserts now! SO easy to make and even easier to eat. I recommend it frozen. It doesn't freeze solid, it stays a little soft, but this prevents it from being runny. Freezing the pies kind of holds the filling together better when slicing. Delicious. If you like caramel, coconut and cream cheese...try this pie. I loved it!! SO glad it made two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This pie is very very good! I have made it several times and everybody always loves it.....I used grahm cracker crust for mine that is pre made. It is very very easy and super rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So simple & yummy tasting. Most thought this was a very good pie, but a few thought it was too sweet. From reading previous reviews, I didn't add as much caramel. Next time I will add even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My husband would give this 6 stars because he loved this so much. I am giving it 4 because I am the boss--haha just kidding. I thought there was too much butter for toasting the coconut. I had to use a slotted spoon to eliminate some of it and I saw some congealed butter after it was frozen--ewww. Other than that it was really good. If you like these ingredients go for it. Also, I had this both frozen and thawed and like it frozen the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States