Toads in the Hole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Love it! My dad's from Banbury, an he loved it. I use more than 8 sausages but regardless still an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Use 2# ground sausage, and add veggies of your choice to make a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a good version of Toad in the hole but I believe it is essential to cook the sausages in the roasting pan before pouring the batter over. The appearance is so much better and any fat can be used to cook the batter in. Don't fret over the lumps in the batter, they disappear during cooking. I prefer much darker color than the picture. A teaspoon of Horseradish sauce stirred into the batter is a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I'm giving this five stars because fulfills all our dinner requirements: it's good, filling, cheap, and my young son will eat it without complaint. :) The only ways we change the recipe: 1- After lining casserole dish with tinfoil, spray tinfoil with nonstick spray on sides as well as the olive oil on the bottom (otherwise the dough sticks to the sides after cooking). 2- Add 1/2 tsp garlic powder to flour before adding eggs. 3- I bake the sausages for five minutes alone, and then pour the batter over it for the normal 25-30 min cooking time, to ensure the sausages are well-cooked. 4- We usually eat this topped with brown gravy (from a powdered mix) and with a side dish of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
We wanted to make something different for St. Patrick's Day, so we tried this because I found a similar recipe on an Irish website but didn't want to do the metric conversions. We wrapped our sausages in bacon and put in the oven at 425 for 20 minutes with a little olive oil. After 20 minutes, we added the batter and baked for an additional 35 minutes. I was disappointed in the breading as it didn't have much flavor. The sausage, however, was excellent. I just wish this dish had more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
very simple and filling. however family didn't care for this at all. I liked it fair. will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Excellent. My missus got jealous that I could make this dish better than her. Didn't tell her I found the recipe here mind you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southend-On-Sea, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was so easy. I had a late night and I left instructions for my H who never cooks...it came out perfect. Delic. w/ a beer and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Very easy to prepare and was very tasty and a very "stick to your ribs" meal. However, after reading the other reviews prior to making it..I did add some garlic powder to the batter for a little more flavour. Don't forget to not open the oven door until puffy and golden. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I tried this recipe just for its names' sake tonight. Very easy, funny and unusual here in Czechia. Also tasty. I had no problem with this recipe, it is good just as is (don't know about a pan size). Unfortunately I've never heard of the onion gravy and had no time to explore, so I added little dried garlic to the batter and ate it with mustard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States