Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
A wonderful old English dish - just like my Nanna used to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
So I liked this recipe overall. It was easy, if anything I made it more complex by sifting the flour through a tiny strainer! I also could not get my hands on decent sausage so I used Hillshire Farms. I sauteed the onion with Sausage cut into large pieces. I also used some garlic powder in both the sausage/onions and batter. After I had that in the oven I made onion gravy like the other reviews. I used the oil onion juice from frying the sausages and added fresh onions. The made my rue and used a nice Belgium style beer for the liquid. In all I must say I was impressed with what came out after expecting it all to be very horrible. It was quite the opposite. The only thing I messed up on was too much salt in the gravy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was great! I browned the sausages in a cast iron skillet with a little olive oil. (we get our pork from farm-raised pigs and it's very lean!) While they were cooking I mixed up the other other ingredients, beat well with a whisk and let it rest When the meat was finished, I arranged the sausages then poured the batter into the hot pan and put it into the oven. It was perfect. For those who said this was bland - it's basically Yorkshire pudding - it's not supposed to be bursting with spicy flavors! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I'm changing my review because basically not sticking to Your recipe is what caused my Failure. I also forgot to add the eggs. I'm glad your are helping others with your recipes. Nice Work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angieskia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I make this all the time and love it. For my personal tastes though I usually add some chopped herbs like basil, rosemary, thyme and oregano or sometimes a little bit of cumin or just some dill. Overall though it's a fantastic recipe and I like how easy it is that I can whip it up in a few minutes minus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
My husband is British and was thrilled to finally find a recipe from home! He loves this and it is soooo easy to make! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was so easy to make! and very tasty, my husband loved it with lots of mushroom gravy. I would have liked more dough around the sausages. Next time I will use a bigger pan and double the batter recipe. Yumyum I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This worked like a charm. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
As for this recipe, try cooking your sausages directly in the pan at the 400 degree oven. When they are half baked, and the pan is sizzling hot, pour your Yorkshire batter over the top and let them finish baking. DO NOT open the oven. They will puff up beautifully. It also helps to make your batter in advance and let it sit mixed on the counter at room tempertaure to ensure a BIG puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Being of British heritage, this recipe is the best...Easy, tasty, filling and cheap to prepare for someone on a tight budget..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States