Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
As for this recipe, try cooking your sausages directly in the pan at the 400 degree oven. When they are half baked, and the pan is sizzling hot, pour your Yorkshire batter over the top and let them finish baking. DO NOT open the oven. They will puff up beautifully. It also helps to make your batter in advance and let it sit mixed on the counter at room tempertaure to ensure a BIG puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Try baking your sausage until it is halfway cooked in your pan in the hot oven. Then, when the grease is smoking hot, pour in your batter. The crust does not get high depending on how you beat your eggs. The crust gets high if #1 you leave your batter out on the counter for at least 30 minutes and #2 if you pour it into a very hot, sizzling dish with fat that is smoking hot on the bottom. I'd increase the temperature of the oven to 425 degrees and make sure you use a metal pan, not glass. Overall, this is a good, basic recipe for TITH and keep in mind that it is a British dish, which is historically not overly spicy or flavorful. This is comfort food at its best. Cover it with a nice brown gravy, some mashed potatoes, peas and carmelized onions. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I make this all the time and love it. For my personal tastes though I usually add some chopped herbs like basil, rosemary, thyme and oregano or sometimes a little bit of cumin or just some dill. Overall though it's a fantastic recipe and I like how easy it is that I can whip it up in a few minutes minus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Pretty tasty, but needs a little something extra as the base is pretty bland. Adding something like mushrooms and green onions should greatly improve it. A great base for experimentation. Do note that it needs to be served right out of the oven for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I'm also English, and I made this for my American husband as he's always been intrigued by the name. This was pretty much as Toad in the Hole should be, although I found the batter a little on the heavy side, and not as light and fluffy as my mum's TitH. Maybe I will use a little less flour next time. Also, I'm finding it really hard to find good sausages in the US. Even the 'English style' bangers from my British food store in Dayton, OH, are not terribly good... Anyhoo, we had it with buttery mashed potatoes, peas and home-made gravy. A nice reminder of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Being of British heritage, this recipe is the best...Easy, tasty, filling and cheap to prepare for someone on a tight budget..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy Broadley
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My wife is English and this being my first attempt at making this, I was a little nervous but she smiled and gave me a big "well done, LOVE IT" , so what else can I say other than great recipe , only change added onions , thank you and have posted a photo , kind regards Andy and his English wife Suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was great! I browned the sausages in a cast iron skillet with a little olive oil. (we get our pork from farm-raised pigs and it's very lean!) While they were cooking I mixed up the other other ingredients, beat well with a whisk and let it rest When the meat was finished, I arranged the sausages then poured the batter into the hot pan and put it into the oven. It was perfect. For those who said this was bland - it's basically Yorkshire pudding - it's not supposed to be bursting with spicy flavors! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
my English husband loved this, but i changed the directions slightly to cook it the way his mum does in England: after browning the sausages, pour about 3tbsp peanut or canola oil into the pan along with the sausages (make sure it's oven proof) and place it in the preheated oven until the oil is smoking hot; pour the batter over the sausages and quickly place the pan back into the hot oven, bake as directed (altho mine took 40 minutes to be cooked properly). We served with Colcannon (from this site) and onion gravy. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Works well and makes toad in the hole as I remember it. Delicious - don't forget the brown gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States