Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This worked like a charm. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I make this all the time and love it. For my personal tastes though I usually add some chopped herbs like basil, rosemary, thyme and oregano or sometimes a little bit of cumin or just some dill. Overall though it's a fantastic recipe and I like how easy it is that I can whip it up in a few minutes minus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Pour brown gravy over to make it authentically British - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elljoymit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Although this is to be eaten with vegetables and gravy, we eat it for brunch on Sundays with fresh berries, pure maple syrup and icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was so easy to make! and very tasty, my husband loved it with lots of mushroom gravy. I would have liked more dough around the sausages. Next time I will use a bigger pan and double the batter recipe. Yumyum I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Excellent and super easy. Next time, I'm going to make the batter the night before and let it chill, so it rises a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Like the reviews said, this was pretty bland. But from what I understand its a bland type of dish. I did add a whole onion chopped to the browning sausage as well as added some Italian seasoning. Didnt help that much tho. Thank you for sharing but this one just doesnt suit our tastes. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I remember eating this as a child and loving it but it's just not the same as an adult. This was a very bland dish best eaten covered with tomato ketchup. Kind of like baked sausage & eggs. An easy to make and fun recipe for kids so it still gets a good rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
My husband is British and was thrilled to finally find a recipe from home! He loves this and it is soooo easy to make! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I'm also English, and I made this for my American husband as he's always been intrigued by the name. This was pretty much as Toad in the Hole should be, although I found the batter a little on the heavy side, and not as light and fluffy as my mum's TitH. Maybe I will use a little less flour next time. Also, I'm finding it really hard to find good sausages in the US. Even the 'English style' bangers from my British food store in Dayton, OH, are not terribly good... Anyhoo, we had it with buttery mashed potatoes, peas and home-made gravy. A nice reminder of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States