Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Works well and makes toad in the hole as I remember it. Delicious - don't forget the brown gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had never attempted to make batter before, but this recipe made a simple, filling, and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Make with brown bacon gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaos08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Try baking your sausage until it is halfway cooked in your pan in the hot oven. Then, when the grease is smoking hot, pour in your batter. The crust does not get high depending on how you beat your eggs. The crust gets high if #1 you leave your batter out on the counter for at least 30 minutes and #2 if you pour it into a very hot, sizzling dish with fat that is smoking hot on the bottom. I'd increase the temperature of the oven to 425 degrees and make sure you use a metal pan, not glass. Overall, this is a good, basic recipe for TITH and keep in mind that it is a British dish, which is historically not overly spicy or flavorful. This is comfort food at its best. Cover it with a nice brown gravy, some mashed potatoes, peas and carmelized onions. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
As for this recipe, try cooking your sausages directly in the pan at the 400 degree oven. When they are half baked, and the pan is sizzling hot, pour your Yorkshire batter over the top and let them finish baking. DO NOT open the oven. They will puff up beautifully. It also helps to make your batter in advance and let it sit mixed on the counter at room tempertaure to ensure a BIG puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I'm changing my review because basically not sticking to Your recipe is what caused my Failure. I also forgot to add the eggs. I'm glad your are helping others with your recipes. Nice Work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angieskia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was great! I browned the sausages in a cast iron skillet with a little olive oil. (we get our pork from farm-raised pigs and it's very lean!) While they were cooking I mixed up the other other ingredients, beat well with a whisk and let it rest When the meat was finished, I arranged the sausages then poured the batter into the hot pan and put it into the oven. It was perfect. For those who said this was bland - it's basically Yorkshire pudding - it's not supposed to be bursting with spicy flavors! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pooch656
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
A pretty good recipe for a yorkie batter, I halved the recipe as I only needed enough for 2 people. The four stars are because I heated the dish and a little oil up in the oven before adding the sausage and batter. Also it really needs seasoning, I used salt and pepper and a little chilli powder, without it I can see why people would complain that its bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The boyfriend and I call this one Heart attack in a pan.we had a friend over to sample it and he couldnt get up afterwards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Easy and tasty, but next time I might just bake it all in the hot skillet that the sausages are browned in. I originally used a glass baking dish and it stuck all over the dish and was hard to serve and clean up. I think a greased skillet would help. Also, I used breakfast sausage links. Can't wait to try with regular pork sausage in the casings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States