Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
i need to add more flavor to the batter, but i dont know what to use. i keep hearing about this onion gravy but i cant find it. does it have a more exact name? my family and i ended up using gravy for more flavor after it was cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
my English husband loved this, but i changed the directions slightly to cook it the way his mum does in England: after browning the sausages, pour about 3tbsp peanut or canola oil into the pan along with the sausages (make sure it's oven proof) and place it in the preheated oven until the oil is smoking hot; pour the batter over the sausages and quickly place the pan back into the hot oven, bake as directed (altho mine took 40 minutes to be cooked properly). We served with Colcannon (from this site) and onion gravy. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGob
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made this last night and it was GREAT! First, I preheated my oven, with the casserole dish and a good amount of olive oil, in to preheat as well. I browned my sausage on the stove, then just opened the oven, plopped my sausage in and poured the batter on top. This is great by itself, but missing something...you have to have the onion gravy with it! It's a must! It was my first time making both, and I was SO pleased by how well they came out! The onion gravy recipe I used was with a recipe for Bangers and Mash (in case you want it too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Not bad, although I didn't quite expect what I got. Can't tell you what I was expecting . . .maybe more of a breadlike taste? At any rate, this is sort of like an egg and sausage dish with a slight pancake feel. I used egg substitute, which tends to be very bland, so I added salt, pepper, parsley, and some boursin cheese. Adding the cheese and seasonings made it really tasty, but it looks like from the reviews I used this dish in a different way than it is traditional bc I wanted it for a stand alone breakfast dish. It looks like if I make it for a traditional dinner, gravy would be a good addition and add flavor to the meal. Bf thought that using cooked sausage crumbles would be a nice variation for a breakfast dish. I did note that the egg mixture seemed to rise but then deflate rather quickly as it cooled, so definitely serve it immediately. Also, I should've greased the pan more; although I used Pam generously and used a glass pan, this stuff stuck like crazy so I'm soaking the pan now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy Broadley
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My wife is English and this being my first attempt at making this, I was a little nervous but she smiled and gave me a big "well done, LOVE IT" , so what else can I say other than great recipe , only change added onions , thank you and have posted a photo , kind regards Andy and his English wife Suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this with minor tweaks. I am giving it 5 stars because it was excellent as a starting point. I added in caramelized onions with the sausages and added some spices and hot sauce to the batter. Will definitely use again with different add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Ilkic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was VERY GOOD and easy to make. I used a cast iron skillet to cook the sausage, then poured the batter (I let it sit for 15 minutes) over the sausage and popped it in the oven. Next time I will make gravy, for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I grew up in New Zealand, where British recipes are common. Toad in the Hole was something we eagerly gobbled up as kids! This recipe was enjoyed in our house here in the US. (Being vegetarian, I did use Tofurkey's Topsail Ale Beer Brats - they are awesome and meat-free!) It didn't produce quite the results I'd hoped for though. Although I took care with my batter prep, hoping to produce a nice, fluffy "pudding," the finished product was quite dense. Although it puffed up, it didn't puff up enough to cover the sausages. However, as I said we did enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I agree with a previous review. You must brown the sausages first in the oven @ 450F. About 10 mins each side. Then reduce to 400F and add the batter. I also added some salt, pepper & Onion Powder to the batter to make it less bland.. Very yummy served with Onion Gravy, Mash Potatoes and Veg..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Hendry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good & SO EASY! Very versatile depending on what kind of sausage you have on hand. I used maple, apple chicken sausage. I did make some minor changes. I put the pan (small round metal pan) with some fat rendered from the sausage in the oven to get hot, then I put in the sausages topped with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States