Toads in the Hole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Andy Broadley
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My wife is English and this being my first attempt at making this, I was a little nervous but she smiled and gave me a big "well done, LOVE IT" , so what else can I say other than great recipe , only change added onions , thank you and have posted a photo , kind regards Andy and his English wife Suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this with minor tweaks. I am giving it 5 stars because it was excellent as a starting point. I added in caramelized onions with the sausages and added some spices and hot sauce to the batter. Will definitely use again with different add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was VERY GOOD and easy to make. I used a cast iron skillet to cook the sausage, then poured the batter (I let it sit for 15 minutes) over the sausage and popped it in the oven. Next time I will make gravy, for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I grew up in New Zealand, where British recipes are common. Toad in the Hole was something we eagerly gobbled up as kids! This recipe was enjoyed in our house here in the US. (Being vegetarian, I did use Tofurkey's Topsail Ale Beer Brats - they are awesome and meat-free!) It didn't produce quite the results I'd hoped for though. Although I took care with my batter prep, hoping to produce a nice, fluffy "pudding," the finished product was quite dense. Although it puffed up, it didn't puff up enough to cover the sausages. However, as I said we did enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I agree with a previous review. You must brown the sausages first in the oven @ 450F. About 10 mins each side. Then reduce to 400F and add the batter. I also added some salt, pepper & Onion Powder to the batter to make it less bland.. Very yummy served with Onion Gravy, Mash Potatoes and Veg..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Hendry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good & SO EASY! Very versatile depending on what kind of sausage you have on hand. I used maple, apple chicken sausage. I did make some minor changes. I put the pan (small round metal pan) with some fat rendered from the sausage in the oven to get hot, then I put in the sausages topped with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Works well and makes toad in the hole as I remember it. Delicious - don't forget the brown gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had never attempted to make batter before, but this recipe made a simple, filling, and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Make with brown bacon gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaos08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States